rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















went with the other hobby
January 25, 2016

I know I said I was going to use my pens as a mood-elevator this weekend, but I went with the other hobby instead. I baked chocolate chip cookies for Spouse on Friday afternoon, and made a pound cake from scratch on Sunday.


Another uneventful weekend. As I mentioned, I baked cookies on Friday, then napped with B before getting cleaned up to go out. We did DeRango's again--the gnochi were fabulous, the servous was not so great, and the drunks were a little annoying. But we had a coupon for one entree free, so that was pretty nice.
Saturday morning I slept in, then got up for coffee and Spouse ran out for some drive-thru breakfast from McD's. After whipping through some quick housework, we got cleaned up and went to do errands--Rogans shoe store for a new pair of sneakers (me), then car-servicing (Woodman's oil change, Costco fillup, and Kwik-Trip car wash), Meijer for a few groceries, valentines, and some new tops for my upcoming Arizona trip. Last stop, CVS for Spouse's refills, W&T's to take in the mail, then home. For a sandwich, more laundry, and some relaxation time before I started dinner. We spent over half an hour in line for both the oil change and the car wash, so we should have been grumpy--but oddly, we just sort of enjoyed time together. We are such weirdos.

I made meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and scalloped corn, per Spouse's request. Then I cleaned up the kitchen. Yes, once again, it goes "he cooks, I clean up, I cook, I clean up", LOL.

TV, internet, bed.
Sunday was a slow, sloppy day. I continued my extended laundry project by doing up the bedspreads, we had waffles and sausage for breakfast, and since the weather was finally a little better, the whole family went out to the back yard and did a major poo-pickup, followed by a general frolic. B was just so excited to be outside with his people that he ran around like a puppy. He paid for it later, though; I could see he was pretty stiff and worn out. Spouse took an early nap while I baked my poundcake, and I took a late nap while he made dinner; roast chicken breasts, homemade stuffing & gravy, and glazed carrots. Tonight is leftovers night, so he made enough to stretch to two meals.

We had the poundcake for dessert, with fresh strawberries, and it was fairly decent. The flavor and texture were spot on. I think I overbaked it a little, though. It was a reasonably easy recipe from Martha Stewart Everyday, with just six ingredients and a handful of steps. I wouldn't attempt it without a stand mixer, though. Quite a lot of beating of the butter, sugar, and eggs. Since I had fresh strawberries, and surplus of eggs & unsalted butter on hand, it was a pretty good choice for yesterday.

Because at one point, we were debating whether or not we needed to go out. I could see he didn't really want to, and I knew I didn't, so I pointed out that while we didn't have exactly what he thought he required (fresh onion and chicken stock)--we had perfectly adequate substitutes on hand (dehydrated minced onion, chicken stock concentrate, turkey stock). In the end, we decided to challenge ourselves to manage a lovely dinner and dessert entirely out of what was in the house. And we did just that. There was no way you could tell that the onion in the stuffing wasn't fresh, the homemade gravy was absolutely perfect, the chicken breasts were done to perfection, and the strawberries and pound cake make a lovely dessert. Mission accomplished!

Sometimes he needs to be reminded of WHY we keep the pantry so well-stocked. It isn't just for the sake of hoarding. It's for times when you can't (or just really don't want to) go out!

The post office FINALLY delivered my Amazon package--a mere two weeks after I ordered it--on Sunday afternoon. That situation's getting to be hopeless. Especially since we live in a town with a "fulfillment center". But at least I finally have my new notebooks that I desperately needed, and my calendar. (As well as Auntie's Valentine gift--ATK's "Pressure Cooker Perfection" cookbook.)

And another quiet evening. He went to bed early, and I did my morning prep, puttered on the net, and felt sorry for myself (Sunday night blues) until I made myself go to bed. I didn't sleep well--night sweats, nightmares, and awake by three a.m. to spinning anxiety brain and a horrible dread of having to go to work. I think the fact that I absolutely must not have any more unscheduled absences for the next several months has me feeling a bit panicked and trapped.





Reading: "A Daughter of the Rich" (1903), by M.E. Waller

Listening: INXS, Del Amitri, Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats, The Killers, Fitz & the Tantrums

Inked Up: Mont Blanc Pink in the Monteverde Artista, R&K Solferino in the Pilot Metro, Pelikan 4001 brilliant green in the Noodler's Konrad (it's working again, for now), and, as always, Pelikan 4001 brilliant brown in the Conklin Duragraph.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com