rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















happy (fucking) anniversary
January 22, 2016

You have to admit, they don't let up. I'm still being showered with attention on the occasion of my 20th anniversary at work. The latest manifestation of their kind attentions?

I was presented with my first ever (in my two decades of continous employment) write-up.

fuck them.

fuck them hard.

fuck them with GG Allin's dirty dead dick.


*Deep Breath*
It is what it is. Not going to dwell. Weekend is here, and I can go to bed and forget about the world for a good chunk of it. Or work off the negative energy by rage cleaning something. Or playing with my pens...that's a happy place.





Reading: meh. FINALLY finished "Murder Must Advertise", which is sort of ridiculous on my part, considering it is short, familiar, and well-loved. But I think I instinctively shy away from things I love when I'm depressed, for fear that my complete lack of a capacity for enjoyment will ruin the experience for me forever.

Listening: Death Cab for Cutie, Vampire Weekend, Wilco.

Inked Up: Okay, I may have to re-rank my pens again. Even though I was resigned to write-off (no pun intended) my Pilot Metro as being a bad pen, I decided to give it another try. Realizing that I had only used cartridges in it—both with the original Pilot Namiki contents, and refilled with other inks—I decided to dig out the squeeze converter that came with it and give that a shot.

I filled the converter with a sample of Rohrer & Klingner’s “Solferino”; a magenta-ish purple that came in my magenta sampler from Goulet. I hadn’t tried it yet, so I figured what the heck.

And WHAT a difference. If I didn’t know better, I’d swear this was an entirely different pen! It just behaves so much differently, I can’t believe it. My Metro was my first reputable pen, and I was still putting my toes back in the pool when I got it. I was leery of squeeze converters. They struck me as potentially messy and troublesome. So I just tucked it away in the back of a drawer and ignored it, using the cartridges to fill the pen, and being consistently disappointed.

Well, at least I realized my mistake! I think it is probably about 70% improved ink flow from the converter, and about 30% the R&K ink. I seem to have very good results from their inks in pens that write dry. (And I love their colors, too.) I'm relieved, because it is such a good looking pen, and I really wanted to love it so much!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com