rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















forcing myself
January 19, 2016

We didn't really feel up to doing much this weekend, honestly. Took care of the bare necessities, and hunkered down in the cold. And as for Monday-- the -6 temp/-30 windchill yesterday was more than I could face--especially since the furnace wasn't getting it above 60 in the house. I spent nearly all of yesterday in my bed, cuddling with the dog and sleeping under the electric blanket.

I am having some serious problems with making myself engage. Huge case of the "whybother"s. But I'm not sure whether winter is the cause, or a very convenient excuse.


The weekend consisted of the usual shopping, errands, housework, laundry, cooking, and taking long naps. We had tacos on Saturday night, A big breakfast on Sunday morning (Bacon, home fries, eggs, toast, coffee, and fresh-squeezed OJ.), and Spouse made Christmas dinner, part 2--the other half of the rib roast, with hasselback potatoes and roasted carrots.
Thank goodness, Spouse found a vacation package he liked--we will be going to Reno, I guess. As long as he's happy, I don't give a shit. I've never been there, so at least it'll be someplace new. Much better deal, for airfare and a nice hotel. Connecting flight in LV, but that's no biggie. Cheap car rental, so we can go exploring some. Like I said--as long as he's happy, I'm fine with it.

Spouse talked to Auntie on Saturday, and I had a long chat with Dad on Sunday. Apparently the girlfriend was shipped back to Illinois on Friday. I don't think the visit worked out like she thought it was going to. Per Auntie, Dad was pretty unhappy with the whole thing. Per Dad, the girlfriend was pretty unhappy with the whole thing. And me? I'm kind of relieved.

Dad actually seems stoked that I'm coming out; which is also a relief. I never have to doubt that I'm welcome at Auntie's, but I wasn't sure about forcing myself on Dad. I think, thought, that last year's visit went a long way towards assuring him that we can get along well enough to enjoy ourselves, and each other's company. Also--he knows I am coming to see family, not Phoenix. I don't need to go sightseeing. I'm happy just to hang out and visit with my prize peeps. And for him, the fact that he doesn't have to haul me around and show me all over the valley is a load off his mind.
It's a lucky thing I still have access to my obsolete email address--Apparently, I got an email from W. last night. On the night before they left, at 9:00 pm, and to an old email address, she sent me an email asking me to pick up their mail and check on the house while they are out of town.

Seriously?! I would still know nothing about it, except for the fact that T thanked me for "house-sitting" for them, via facebook this morning! I was like wait--what?!

*Sigh*

This is what you get when all your friends are even more introverted and socially awkard than you are.





Reading: Honestly--not doing too well right now with the reading.

Listening: Arctic Monkeys, Bill Withers, Florence + the Machine, Lord Huron

Inked Up: Conklin Duragraph, Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown. No time for tempermental, prima-donna BS from any pens today. Need to clean out the Waterford Claria and put it away; finally managed to make myself use it till the ink was gone. And by the way--that Konrad fix was amazing--for about three minutes. And now it itsn't flowing at all any more. IDK--and I don't have the patience to figure it out.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com