rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















obligifted
December 22, 2015

I hate it when my co-workers buy me stuff for Christmas. I don't want to get them anything, but I have to. Because I have to work with those judgmental, vindictive a-holes. So had to  take time out of my day, and money out of my pocket, to stop at Meijer and get them something. Just so they don't get bitchy because they got me something and I didn't return the "favor".  (Well, who asked them?  I don't need their stupid, mass-produced, made-in-China, last-minute crap.) 

They got cheap day planners. At least my gifts are useful.


I'm feeling pretty grouchy. It's been one of those days that make an introvert want to curl up in a little ball. The office was crazy-busy, LOUD, annoying, and I got the bad news that one of my co-workers--who was the spouse of another co-worker--passed away suddenly in his sleep last night. And his wife is currently recuperating from a major heart surgery, so it is all awful and sad and horrible.  This is the second time that we've lost a co-worker in these circumstances--a programmer, married to another co-worker, early 50s, died suddenly in their sleep. Effing weird.

Then I got home and it was hustle-bustle all the way to past 8:00 pm. Dealing with the B (food, pills, paws, cleaning up all the mud he tracked in BEFORE I could wipe his paws), making dinner, cleaning up, then helping Spouse prepare stuff for his office party. He made a crock-pot full of maple-bourbon glazed chicken wings, and I put together a cheese platter for him.  

Once THAT mess was all cleaned up, I had a Dad call, and by the time all was said and done, I was just about a dishrag. 
The day did have some high points. I got my Christmas box from AZ, and it was full of sweet goodies--See's chocolates, and a fancy gourmet hot coca mix, with Whole Foods hand made marshmallows to float in it.

And Spouse made me the neatest little thing on the 3D printer--a tiny little Christmas house, with really cool details like a Christmas tree in the living room, and a Dusenberg in the driveway. I just love it. Cheered me up immensely.
 

Reading: "Ruth Fielding Down in Dixie; or Great Times in the Land of  Cotton" (1916), "Ruth Fielding In the Saddle, or College Girls in the Land of Gold" (1917) by Alice B. Emerson, and "The deBercy Affair"(1910), by Gordon Holmes (Louis Tracy)

Listening: Kay Starr, Kristen Chenoweth, Frank Sinatra, Josh Groban (yes, Christmas music.)

Inked Up: I need to get some pens filled--I've written all the Kon-Peki out of the Waterman, and I want more!  I have decided I really don't like the Organics Studio Foggy Bottom in my Conklin--too blah, and too dry. And did I mention? I don't know what I'm getting for Christmas from Spouse--but I know it came from GOULET PENS! Squee!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com