rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















bake-free weekend!
December 21, 2015

Friday, I got up to find that the dog had torn off one of his paw pads again, so we had that to cope with. Following that, I had a morning in Hell at work, then came home, had the last of Spouse's homemade Italian beef for lunch, and took a snooze with Mr. B for a bit, then arose to do some housework and put up the Christmas tree before I had to get ready to go out to dinner.

We went to the lodge for cocktails and fried chicken, only to find that A) it was baked chicken, not fried B) they had run out of baked chicken by 6:00 pm, and C) the dining room would be going out of business, effective January 1st.

Well, the drinks were good! I had fish, Spouse had a hamburger steak, and we both had a couple brandy & cokes.


Neither of us was in a particular hurry to get going on Saturday. I stripped & aired the beds, then made them up fresh. Threw the sheets in the wash, for a good long "bedding" cycle (pre-soak, long wash, extra rinse). Spouse made himself some SPAM & eggs for breakfast, but I was in a cereal mood, so I finished the Special K Red Berries.

We finally rolled out about 10:30. Made a circle, starting at Sam's Club--for the first time in months and months. I am going to let my membership expire in January, so I wanted to get a new bottle of EDT while it was still good. I may go back in a couple of weeks and get another one, just to stock up. And we picked up a couple other things we like to get from there, like grain-free dog biscuits, salad mix, and a box of granola bars.

After Sam's, we ran out to Penzeys for a few items we needed--cake spice, paprika, and I got a small bottle of dried orange peel--crush it to a powder and add it to their cake spice blend, and you pretty much have a knock-off of Cinnamon Plus, from Pampered Chef. Only better, fresher, and cheaper. I mixed some up last night and put it in this morning's coffee, and let me tell you--IT KICKS ASS. I will use the orange peel in other things as well, and Spouse can't make pancakes or french toast without cinnamon plus or cake spice, so it isn't just for my coffee. :) He needed the paprika because when he asked me if there was something special he could make me for Christmas Eve dinner, I told him I wanted his homemade Russian dressing on a salad.

Then we did Costco, where my completely out-of-control husband did MORE Christmas shopping for Niece and Nephew, plus we got a few thing we needed and filled up the car. Last stop was Meijer, for groceries, and for baby socks to put on my idiotic dog's paw to protect it when he goes outside. And Spouse bought his niece ANOTHER PRESENT. By the time we got home and put everything away, it was definitely nappy time. We all had a nice siesta, and dinner was super-simple-- kosher dogs, fries, and a tossed salad.

I got my Secret Santa present in the mail on Saturday, which got my blood going pretty good--a selection of ink samples and a syringe set from Anderson Pens! Squeee!! But Spouse was mega-pissed, because he'd spent almost $20 for next day shipping on paw medicine for B, and it never showed up on Saturday. Amazon is crediting the shipping cost back to him, though--the customer service was excellent when he called about it.
Sunday, I made a pan of rolls for breakfast, plus a bowl of grits for Spouse, at his request, and we had a quiet morning. I cleaned the kitchen, worked on the laundry, and did my pen maintenance. Spouse ran out for a haircut about 9:30; he was gone an hour, and came back WITH MORE GIFTS FOR NIECE AND NEPHEW. He swears this is it, though. (believe it when I see it, LOL)

This was the first weekend with no baking since the middle of November, and that was rather enjoyable. I love to bake, but this time of year, it can get to be a bit onerous. Instead, we had a bit of a wrap-a-thon yesterday, and got all the gifts done up in one fell swoop. Well, except for Spouse's to me, which he is wrapping at work. Spouse handled the paper, I did bows and tags, and we got it all done in about an hour. Then he took the dog for a car ride, to get him out of my hair while I cleaned up the mess and arranged the packages "under the tree". (It would have been a walk, but with the messed up paw, that wasn't possible.)

We de-cluttered the dining room quite a bit, then just chilled in the afternoon, reading and relaxing. Dinner was early, because Spouse made steaks over charcoal, and needed the light. Steak, baked potato, another salad, and everything cleared away and cleaned up before the clock struck six. A quiet Sunday night...I watched some old eps of 8 out of 10 Cats, and Spouse read a library book on his Kindle. Got my stuff ready for Monday morning, finished the laundry, and went to bed about nine.


Reading: "Ruth Fielding Down in Dixie; or Great Times in the Land of Cotton" (1916), by Alice B. Emerson, and "The deBercy Affair"(1910), by Gordon Holmes (Louis Tracy)

Listening: Meatloaf, "Bat Out of Hell"

Inked Up: Nemosine Fission .8mm stub, with Noodler's "Apache Sunset". Conklin Duragraph fine nib, with Organics Studio "Foggy Bottom".

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com