rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















pleasant november weekend
November 09, 2015

Friday was a busy morning, easy afternoon day. Went home after work, made myself some lunch, and geeked out a little: snapped pictures of pens, and scheduled some posts on the pen blog for Fountain Pen Day. After that, I curled up with the dog to read for a bit before committing to a good, solid nap. Got up at feeding time, took care of the pooch, and Spouse came home with Wells Brothers pizza for dinner. Just a quiet, puttery evening. Did some dishes, got a start on the laundry.


Saturday was a slow starter, because B had a 10:30 appointment at the vet, for a blood test. We had coffee and cinnamon rolls for breakfast, and I cleaned in the kitchen, pushed the laundry hard, and did some assorted housework before hitting the showers. We ended up having to take the B on an extended car ride, because we screwed up and didn't give him his pill soon enough before his appointment, but we all enjoyed that, actually. Got his blood drawn, then took him home and he and I went out back to pick up poo (well, in his case, to drop it off.) and let him run off some steam before Spouse and I went to do the shopping. It was a gorgeous weekend--warm and sunny--so I kept finding reasons to be in the yard.

We decided to stretch our legs a little, and took a drive up to Oak Creek, just for a change. I was somewhat disappointed at the Farm and Fleet, because that store didn't carry any fruitcake supplies--well, except for a great price on fresh pecan halves. Well, it is more urban than Sturtevant. Picked up peanuts for clusters, and some cashews for Spouse, as well. I bought a nice sweater on sale, magenta cotton. And they had the Foodsaver Jar Sealer I wanted, for 15% off. Funny--they carry the canisters and the jar sealer, but not the hose that you need to make them work! (Well, it was a good deal, and I figured I'd just get the hose off of Amazon next time I ordered something.)

We went to Meijer next, and I was able to get most everything else I need for the fruitcakes. Still need macadamia nuts (Auntie's request) and cheesecloth, but everything else is acquired. Next weekend is the big fruitcake bake, because I have to get it done early this year. Thanksgiving weekend has been set aside for installing the new kitchen floor. I'm hoping to have enough spare supplies to make myself a small, dark loaf. After all these years, I may actually get to enjoy the fruit(cake)s of my own labors!

We came straight home after that, since it was a bit of a drive, and we had perishables. Put everything away, and I finished the last bit of laundry and relaxed doing library management and troubleshooting an issue on my tablet in the afternoon, while Spouse took a nap. I cooked dinner; a pasta bake with garlic bread and salad. Even though I did all the cooking last week, because Spouse was sick--for some reason, I still felt like cooking. just a simple one with ground beef, marinara sauce, elbow macaroni, and a mix of mozzarella and provolone cheeses. I made a regular-sized batch, but I really didn't want to have leftovers, so I divided it up into two pans--one for the oven, and one for the freezer. I just love the foil pans with the cardboard lids--they make it so easy to cook ahead like that. And one casserole recipe is the perfect amount for two meals.

After dinner was over and I got everything in the kitchen cleaned up, we did our usual evening chill out. I watched some panel shows on my laptop, and played some games. Spouse watched tv and read.
I slept in till 7:30 on Sunday; Spouse got up and took care of the dog so I could get the extra zzzzs. He also stripped his bed and threw the bedding in the wash, bless his heart. After I was up, we made breakfast: coffee and OJ, eggs, bacon and toast. I cleaned up the kitchen, did the weekly sweep of miscellany that had filled the dining room table, and organized the cupboard with the storage containers, Then I threw on some grubbies and took the B out back.

I wanted to finish getting the yard ready for winter--taking down the rest of my garden, and putting way the pool ladder. I planned on emptying the last two planters, but really--I hadn't the heart. The truth is, the geraniums, vinca, and dusty millers are still thriving! So I just pulled out the SunPatiens that the frost had killed, and pulled them out where they could get more sun, and said heck with it. I'll enjoy them until they give up.

Spouse came out and helped me get the ladder stowed in the basement, and I put away the rest of the knick-knacks and cushions. Then we stowed the chairs up on the pool deck, and played with the dog for a while. Again--it was an absolutely splending weekend. Bright, breezy, and very comfortable for November--high 50s. Perfect sweatshirt weather. I felt compelled to take advantage and get my outside stuff done, as the weather was being so cooperative.

By the time we got cleaned up, it was nearly noon, so we decided to run out for a while, to the gas station and the hardware store. Menards was having one of their 11% off sales (you send in a rebate, and get a store credit for 11% of your receipt), and Spouse really wanted to take a look at one of those electric fireplace/tv stands they had on sale. He decided against it, since it required a buttload of assembly, and he's already got the kitchen floor on his project list. (I'm glad--I don't really want one)

Then he said he wanted to stop at Festival, and pick up a bag of oranges to take to work, so we ran in and got those, and a couple other things. I was feeling kind of blitzed by the time we got home, so I made myself bring up the clean bedding and re-make his bed, before stretching out on mine for a fine nap.

When I woke up a couple of hours later, he was just putting the finishing touches on a splendid Sunday dinner--roast sirloin of beef, a perfect medium-rare, mashed potatoes and gravy, and haricots verts. I was in time to stir the gravy, and set the table, but that was it. A lovely dinner, and enough leftovers to make tonight simple and lovely, as well.

We had everything cleaned up and put away by six, so we watched a little DVR, and he crashed early. I got my Monday morning setup done, went on Amazon and ordered a couple of pairs of work pants and the hose for the jar sealer, read, puttered some more, and went to bed about 10.

READING:
"Ruth Fielding of the Red Mill; Or, Jasper Parloe's Secret" (1913), by Alice B. Emerson

LISTENING:
Les Miserables; the 10th Anniversary Concert "Dream Cast"

INKED:
I'm back to having 9 pens inked up, so I'm in a "writing out" phase. Today, it's the Nemosine stub with Mont Blanc Irish Green, and the Delta broad nib with Mont Blanc pink--but with the nib flipped. I like the line I get with it upside-down, and the MB pink is wet enough so it goes smoothly. Well, on the right paper, anyway.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com