rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















one load off my mind
October 26, 2015

Friday
I was only too glad to see the office in my rear-view, after what was a horrid week. When I opened up my review to put in my information, I found what I thought was a mistake, but turned out to be just the latest in a long line of underhanded screwings-over at work.

one load off my mind Long story short--it turns out that I've been misrepresenting myself for the last year. They "changed" my job title, and never bothered to tell me. Or, in fact to change it officially--if they had changed it in the personel app and the company directory, I probably would have caught on a long time ago. So now I have to review my year's performance, based on a job description I just found out was being applied to me. What fun.

Honestly. I haven't gotten a straight deal at that place since I stopped having a male boss, and damn, that pisses me off. I HATE working for women. And I HATE that I hate working for women. But all of my personal experience, in 40 years of employment, has been that women bosses are, at worst, sneaky, back-stabby, "suck-up/shit down". And at best, so timid they're pissing themselves every time they have to make a decision, and so afraid of confrontation that they pull shit like I just related. Of the male bosses I've had, maybe 10-15 percent were assholes Less than 5% were wimps. Of the women, 20% were assholes, and 80% were wimps.

I'm sure there are all kinds of rationales for this, and I'm sure that my experience does not speak for everyone. But you know what? It speaks for me. And so does this diary, so if anyone reads this and doesn't like it, they need to keep it to themselves. I don't want to hear it. And it isn't that I don't want women to be my bosses-- I just want them to stop being wimps.

So, rant over.


On my way home Friday, I went to the bank, then ran over to the mechanic to pay the car repair bill for the Ford ($600 to fix oil and tranny leaks) and pick up the keys. Went home, made some lunch, and took a nap with the B, because I was just exhausted from the week.

Got up, washed dishes, got freshened up & dressed, and Spouse picked me up for dinner. It was pouring rain, but he wanted to go clear up to the northwest side of Racine for dinner, so I humored him. We went to the Roma Lodge--basically it's their Italian-American Club, and they have a cafe open to the public on Fridays.

It was a brilliant choice--I had the best ravioli (homemade, half meat/half cheese) I've encountered since Dino's closed, and Spouse said the same about the mostacioli and meatballs. We were raving about how great the food is, and how great the service is, and I think our waitress heard us because she brought us a complimentary chocolate cannoli that was out of this world. And the price for two pasta dinners with salads, bread, soft drinks, and the cannoli? $22.39, tax included! After dinner, Spouse stopped at the repair shop on the way home, and I picked up the Ford and followed him back to the house.
Saturday, Spouse ran over to McD's for some breakfast take-out, and I did housework & laundry for a while. Then we got cleaned up and returned the rental car before doing our shopping. We hit Costco, Meijer, and Menards this week.; I wanted to pick up the RCA alarm clock I looked at last week, and Menards had it for under $20.00. I finally got fed up with that stupid Sony that never kept kept time or picked up a radio signal. This one is has a bigger display, a dual alarm, a better radio, and still manages to take up less room on the nightstand. It's easier to use, too. If it's accurate, I'm going to love it.

When we got home, we put the shopping away, I got the laundry started back up, and then I set up my new clock while Spouse did some dinner prep in the kitchen, marinating his meat for the teriyaki stir-fry he has planned. Once he was done, took my turn in the kitchen, mixing and baking a yellow sheet cake, as he had requestd a cake. Once it was out and cooling, and I'd advanced the laundry once more, we all took a nap.

Mine was fairly short, and when I got up, I made a homemade chocolate buttercream icing and frosted the cake, got the dog fed, and then it was Spouse's turn again: he made a fantastic stir-fry for dinner, full of fresh veggies, fresh ginger and garlic, pineapple, and some pork he'd filched off of the end of the roast we'd bought for Sunday. I was a complete glutton, eating up every bit of the batch he'd made for me (mine always has more veggies than his).

Once I could move again, I did dishes for the third or fourth time that day, and helped Spouse with his music loading--he is a little dodgy when it comes to ripping a CD and putting the music onto his thumb drive. I watched the latest QI episode, and early bed.
Sunday, I got up at 5:30 to take cvare of the dog, then went back to bed and slept in a little bit. Spouse made pancakes & sausage for breakfast. I cleaned up the dishes while he went out and picked up dog poos, then we tackled the 5200 gallon elephant in the yard--we closed the pool. It was a gorgeous morning, and everything went very well. But it is still a LOT of work. And while it is always a test of us keeping our tempers, we usually manage to pass. We are both very much relieved to have it done, and consider it quite the load off of our minds.

We also put another battery-operated LED light in the yard. We put one up last week for Mr. B, and we liked it so much we picked another one up at Menards on Saturday and installed it over on the other side of the pool, to light up the back half of yard. These things are great--about $25, super easy to install, no wiring necessary, with adjustable light and motion sensitivity, adjustable aim, and they run on 3 "C" batteries, which last a long time because they're LED. They aren't super bright, but because they are a very clear light, and you can aim them precisely, they illuminate extremely well. Because they are battery, you can pretty much mount them where you want, so they are low enough to be easy for battery changes, and to light our yard without disturbing the rest of the neighborhood. And it literally took me longer to type all that than it did to put the things up!

It was almost noon when we finished out back, and since we were filthy and wet, we immediately got cleaned up. Spouse had a book on flooring installation on hold at the library, so we stopped there to pick it up--they were mobbed, because it was book sale weekend. Then we ran out to Lowes to look at flooring, stopped at Ace for the special (ridiculously expensive) yard waste bags the city requires. (Lowes, being in PP, carries the PP-approved bags. We run into this with most of the big box stores: even though they serve Kenosha, they trait the recycling bags according to the town they are actually in--and of course, no two adjacent towns will ever have the same recycling system.)

Once we got home, though, Spouse and I both hit the wall after our morning's work, and ended up taking naps.

Yes, this weekend was a 3-napper. It seems like every time I get to a point where the work is done and I could do something fun, I have to crash and take all that fun time for sleeping. Kind of a frustrating way to live, but I don't seem to have any choice.

After I woke up, I stayed in bed doing a bit of reading, but Spouse got up and started dinner: Pork roast, mashed potatoes and gravy, and peas. Nice, but not his best work. Rather bland, and the roast was a bit tough.

Spouse went to his room to read so I did dishes, watched some some laminate flooring installation videos and some WILTY episodes, spent some quality time with my pens and inks, and prepped for Monday.

Then went to bed, only to have a night where sleep was elusive. Between my subconcious paranoia that the new alarm wasn't going to go off, and the outfall of my allergies and all the wet leaves in the yard (PND, sore throat, ticklish cough, and sinus pain), I must have snapped awake about 20 times. Not a good night at all.
Today, since it is nice out, and I have my yard bags, I came home from work and spent some time getting the garden ready for winter. Got some pots emptied out & put away, and some of my garden knick-knacks stowed for winter. Didn't get it all, but some is always better than none, and I have to remind myself not to do that "all-or-nothing", "if it isn't perfect, it's shit" thing that rubbed off on me from my mom. Leftover roast became pulled pork sandwiches, and along with some oven fries and a tossed salad, made a very nice, easy dinner.

READING:
The "Mary Jane" series by Clara Judson Ingram. A young girls' series from the 1910s.

Quick Review: "The Liberty Girl" (1919), by Rena I. Halsey. I liked the illustrations. And...well, that's about it. This book is the biggest pile of propaganda I believe I have ever seen. And what it propagates is the worst sort of religion-based patriotism. It's over-the-top, jingoistic, simplistic, and impossible to read. The girls in this book are "Girl Pioneers"--apparently this series was commissioned and/or sanctioned by the Lutheran Church. That would be enough to put me off right there, but the intense proselytizing combined with fervent pro-war rhetoric, was reeeeally too turgid for me. After several tries, I gave up and called it a day on this one. I couldn't even make it halfway, in fact.

LISTENING:
Soundtrack Album to "A Mighty Wind", and a little Jann Arden-- some stuff off of "Time for Mercy".

INKED:
Skilcraft Executive (the blue, medium nibbed one) inked up with Iroshizuku Yama Budo (Crimson Glory Vine) in a recycled Waterman cartridge. I love this ink...it's a color-and-performance combination I can't resist: a rich magenta, and smooth as butter. A nice pairing with the Skilcraft, which is a thinnish medium with a good, solid, no-drama German nib. And for some reason, this pen much prefers a Waterman to any other standard cartridge, or a converter. That's why it is a switch for me to have it inked with something other than good old Serenity Blue. I just put a dab of ink in, to see how I liked it. Iroshizuku is expensive--even in samples! but I may have to fill it up, since I really love it.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com