rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















where's my self-tying shoes, auto-fit jacket, and hoverboard
October 21, 2015

^ Obligatory October 21, 2015 "Back to the Future" reference. ^


It seems to be one of those weeks. Work has been more frantic than usual, Spouse is more droopy (which means he stops doing stuff around the house--which, in turn, means more for me to do). I'm aching all over, it's rainy, and I am very tired.

As I mentioned, when he's droopy, it means more for me to do. I had to stop on my way home and pick up his prescriptions, come home and fix dinner by myself--a completely no imagination meal of shake-n-bake chicken tenders, a packet mix of noodles in butter sauce, and canned peas. Which he loved. Just like his mama used to "make", I guess. Then do dishes by myself, exercise the dog by myself, and finally, thank goodness, he went to bed and left me TO myself. Whereupon my self decided to crash. Tried to read, play a game, netsurf a little--no use. Kept dozing off. So I pushed myself through all the morning prep chores, and went to bed early because I couldn't keep my eyes open. And I think Spouse must have turned off my light and put my phone on the nightstand at some point, because I'm pretty sure I wasn't able to stay awake thru a two-minute game of power solitaire.

I had one of those death nights, too--full of deep sleep with vivid dreaming that involved tons of social interaction. Woke up at two, went to the bathroom, then got a snuggle from the B to send me back to sleep. Got blasted out of another sound sleep by the alarm, which screws up my whole day. I've felt wasted and weird ever since.
When I was talking to Nephew the other day, we got on the subject (can't imagine how!) of pens, and he pretty obviously thought I was nuts to be so into them. I then proceeded to recite for him a list of everything he hated about ballpoint pens. Because he's a leftie, too--and it's pretty much a standard list for southpaws. Gave him the spiel about pushing versus dragging, reminded him about how we always have to put a hand-cramping death-grip on them in order to shove them across with enough force to get ink on the paper. How when you shove that hard, you end tearing the paper, and digging so deep you can't even write on the back side.

He got very quiet, looked at his wife, pointed at me, and said "She gets it". I told that fountain pens are not everyone's thing, but he owed it to himself to at least switch up to rollerballs and/or gels. (And I told him that I knew what he was going to get for Christmas!)

So I did some shopping around, and I think I'm going to get each of them a Geneva Alpine rollerball pen (blue for her, silver for him) and some refills. The Geneva Alpine takes Uniball 207 refills, so it will be easy and affordable for them to re-ink when necessary. And it is only a $20.00 pen, so it is a nice, good-looking, "grown-up" pen within my gift budget. They are very nice pens, and from experience using a Signo, I know the 207 refills will write well. The Pilot Metro is a couple bucks cheaper, but I don't like the way the G2 rollerballs write.

READING:
"Queen Hildegade" (1889), by Laura E. Howe Richards "The S. W. F. Club" (1912) by Caroline E. Jacobs

LISTENING:
Despite the Pandora not working right in the car(it won't work with the USB cable like it's supposed to), I was able to get it to at least play through the aux cable. So today it was a bunch of 90s alt-rock: 3 Doors Down, 3rd Eye Blind, Gin Blossoms, Train, Counting Crows.

INKED:
Needed a workhorse pen today: my blue Waterman, full of...blue Waterman.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com