rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















swimmy weekend
August 17, 2015

Stopped after work on Friday to pick up my Penney's order (3 new bras, very badly needed), then filled up at Costco, since they were still $2.44 while gas prices everywhere else were rocketing skyward.

Somehow, I managed to get more steps in on Friday than I usually do--but I had coconut cake for lunch, so it didn't do me much good. Took a short nap, but didn't feel much rested from it. We had planned on dinner at the lodge, but his membership card hadn't come. And it was brutally hot, so we decided to just pick up some cold sandwich supplies at Meijer and come home. Turkey on wheat, a little TV, and a very confused conversation with my dad, who had decided that we should come down on Saturday to take him home. (My brothers got asked first, but they weaselled out of it.) I don't mind, really--it's much less of a trip for me to go to Rockford than it is for them.

So I sat a lot on Saturday, between long drives and sitting in Dad's hospital room. They released him late on Saturday, but we didn't end up taking him home--his internet ladyfriend came to get him. She pretty much had to, because she still had his clothes, wallet, keys, etc. from when she took him for what was supposed to be outpatient surgery on Monday. I stayed with him from 9:30 till the doctor saw him and gave the okay for release at about 2:00. I didn't stick around to meet the ladyfriend.

He looked rough (a shave and his dentures would have done wonders, I'm sure), but he seemed to be doing really well. He turned a corner Thursday night, and by Friday he told them no more pain meds, so by Saturday morning he was pretty lucid. He left me a message yesterday to let me know things were going well at home. We were pretty beat when we got home, so I grabbed a sandwich, then took a nap. At dinner time, Scott went to get the bacon out for BLTs, and it had expired and looked sketchy. So we dithered around a little before ordering pizza. I had Machine Shed breakfast, turkey and muenster sandwich and chips when we got home, and pepperoni/mushroom pizza for dinner, plus I sat all day, so it wasn't my healthiest day of the year, by a long shot.

I swam a lot on Sunday; trying to make up for Saturday, I guess. Went out before breakfast and had a delicious, cool, shady swim, then came in and helped Spouse cook. He made home fries and threw a ham steak on the grill, and I scrambled some eggs and made toast. Nothing like a swim to sharpen your appetite!

After breakfast, I did the dishes, scoured the sink, cleaned the counters & stove, swept the floor, took out the garbage, and scrubbed the kitchen can. Then I spent some time on the bathroom, which really needed it. Showered, slipped into a clean nightgown, and continued puttering. Spouse was in no hurry to get the day rolling, which made a nice change. So I did some laundry, too. About 11:00, we decided we really needed to run to Costco and Meijer for some things, so we hopped into some comfies and ran our errands, then came back home for more easygoing, kicked-backness.

I went out for another swim, but tried to keep it short so I didn't get burned up. Did get a little color, though. Came in and lay down for a little bit, but didn't nap. Read a bit. Got up about four, and took care of the B's needs. Spouse made a pork tenderloin with potatoes and carrots in the pressure cooker. He dry rubbed the roast the night before, and seared it on the grill before putting it in the pot, so the flavor was phenomenal. Add a little gravy and a dish of applesauce on the side? Heavenly. We're having the same thing tonight. Since the roast he bought was so large, he made enough potatoes & carrots for two meals. I put it all into a big covered pyrex, ready to pop into the oven for tonight's meal.

After dinner settled, I went out for one last swim, but after I covered the grill and got the patio umbrella lowered and tied, my upwind neighbors all decided to sit on their back porches and smoke. I tried to enjoy my swim, but since it all blew straight to me, I just gave up, wrangled the solar cover back on and called it a night.

Came in, had a root beer float, watched an episode of WILTY, and got my morning prep done before brushing my teeth and going to bed. Funny--every week, I think that somehow, this weekend I will spend some time with my friends. And every weekend rolls right by, without that happening. Going to have to put my foot down, I guess.



READING:
The Tucker Twins series, by Nell Speed. On book four: "Tripping with the Tucker Twins" (1919) This one has Molly (Brown) and her Professor Green in it. I like how all the Nell Speed series inhabit the same universe and characters cross over. (Middle-aged guys hooking up with sweet young things, not so much!)

LISTENING:
Houndmouth, X Ambassadors, U2, The Shins.

INKED UP:
I had to re-hydrate the R&K Verdura in my Jin Hao 159, and put in a bit too much water. It's still a nice green, though.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com