rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















better
July 29, 2015, 7:11 A.M.

As one can tell from the previous entry, yesterday was not a great day. It got better after I made myself get up and move. Once I'd rounded up all the trash and set it on the curb, went around and watered the flowers, and took a swim, my headache eased off and I felt a little more refreshed. (I think getting the eyeglasses thing dealt with helped, too.)

Once I'd dried off, I made a no-frills mostaccioli with meat sauce and some garlic bread, which seemed to please Spouse; when he came home and I was in the pool, I think he was expecting to get stiffed on dinner. But I felt so much better I actually cooked. AND did the cleanup.

Tonight was his night to cook; he picked up Chinese. Monday was his day too, and we had tuna sandwiches. He's kind of phoning it in this week, LOL. I'm glad it was his turn, though--I need a night to relax. Yesterday was busy, and tomorrow after work, I have the eye exam, followed by dentist and hair appointments on Friday. I hate that kind of week.


One high note, work-wise, was getting the results for the project audit that I've been dealing with for several months. This was a very in-depth, stress-inducing process, and top brass were taking it terribly seriously. Hired an outside, specialty audit firm to help coordinate--one that is a notoriously tough grader. As in: if you are very good, you might get a "C".

We got an "A".

Yep. No notes, no conditions, passed with flying colors. Knocked their socks off, thanks to the painstaking, bordering-on-the-pathological documentation skills of the project manager, my retired former boss, and myself. Blew the company prez out of the water; apparently this is the first "A" to come out of the auditing department in a really long time.

Honestly, even without the A, I'm so darned relieved to have it over that I could weep.

READING:
“Mary Rose of Mifflin" (1910), by Frances R. Sterrett This book is a sort of Pollyanna tale, about a friendly orphan who goes to live in the city with her aunt and uncle. The uncle is janitor at The Washington Apartment Building, and they live in the basement. Of course, the Washington's a "no cats, dogs, or children" building full of crotchety strangers. And of course, Mary Rose promptly commences transforming the place and the tenants with her sunshiny, winning ways. It's actually rather engaging, and not nearly as cloying as it sounds.

I can’t find anything much online about Frances R. Sterrett, but I have found a bunch of her books, and so far, I like her work. It isn't a series, in the strictest sense of the word. But her stories share a common setting--Waloo, a bustling small city that seems to be somewhere in the upper midwest (Seems like Minnesota to me). And there is a nearby small town called Mifflin, that is referred to often, and is the hometown of some of her characters. Her characters interconnect as well; the main characters in one novel will pop up as supporting characters or offstage references in another. I love that she seems to have built a well- realized little universe for her creations to inhabit. As a longtime reader of mysteries, I appreciate the familiarity and coziness that brings to a story.

LISTENING:
Pearl Jam, U2, Men at Work

INKED UP:
Pilot Metropolitan (Purple Leopard) loaded with Pilot Namiki purple (cartridge). I wish I loved this pen. Based on everything I'd read and heard about the Metro, I thought I was going to. Nope. Mind you--I don't hate it or anything. I just don't love it. It's overwhelmingly "meh". No strong feelings one way or the other. I'd rather have a complicated relationship with a pen than not relate to it at all.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com