rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I might have to name this one
May 07, 2015

Can I just take a minute to rhapsodize over my newest pen?

Well, the answer to that is YES--provided I can put the darn thing down long enough to type out a rhapsody.

Okay--I am soooo in love with my Conklin Duragraph. Any misgivings I had about upping my price range to get a $40-$50 pen are out the window at this point; it is most luxuriously gorgeous to look at, satisfying to hold, and gratifying to use. All I want to do is sit down with a pad of paper and write endless lines of nothing in particular, in every style I can coax out of it.

And that is a lot of styles. The nib on this thing is the most versatile I've ever used. A fine, but with just enough spring to give me some line variation and shading with a minimal application of pressure. And it writes smoothly enough to flip the nib and use it upside down for teeny-weeny, ultra-fine script that is still beautifully legible.

The converter it came with is capacious and well-fitted, and takes up ink very well. The clip is very tight--almost too tight--but seems sturdy. The twist-off cap seems like it doesn't turn enough times by modern standards, but the 3/4 turn is reminiscent of my grandpa's pen from the 1950s. I can see that it would be easy to over-tighten.

What can I say about the appearance? To start, it came in an oversized presentation box--faux leather, hinged lid, embossed in gold, and lined in a buttery faux-pigskin. (The website said satin, but I actually prefer this.)

WOW, what an impact! And the pen itself...gorgeous amber resin that gives the appearance of fine tortoise-shell. A big pen, and one that doesn't post particularly well (too-snug fit and results in a top-heavy pen. But with the size of this pen, I find it perfect to use un-posted.) Two-tone nib. Well marked with Conklin logos on the top of the cap and on the cap band. Just an all-around delight to have in my hand and in my view.

I loaded it up with Pelikan Brilliant Brown; a nicely priced and nicely behaved ink that seems to suit it perfectly. It's warm and clear, a cinnamon-y brown, not dark and muddy at all. Light enough to be pleasing, but with good saturation and a nice degree of shading--I think it would be great in a stub-nib pen.

So here I am, satisfied beyond belief for now--but I thought I was after I bought my Waterman Kultur, and my Pilot Metropolitan, too--so who knows how long this affair will last?

Seriously, though--I think I will give the pen-buying a rest and if I need to feed my jones, I'll stick to inks--and maybe some nice paper.

Now, if you'll excuse me? I have--must--NEED to get back to my pen and ink.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com