rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















up
April 20, 2015

"UP Move", to be precise. My new Jawbone fitness tracker I got at Costco this weekend. In an effort to motivate myself, I bought some wearable tech. And I did find it motivating, once I got past the utterly frustrating process of getting something set up in this post-instruction manual world we live in. You are supposed to just intuitively know how to do this stuff, and while I am not an idiot, and I'm fairly good at tech stuff--this kind of pisses me off sometimes.
But I got there eventually, and I found it to be pretty good. I kind of wish it had a feature to remind me to get up and move around, but I only paid $47.99 for it, so I guess I can't have everything. The other sucky thing about it is--I can't wear it swimming!
Anyway-- I set initial goals of 20 pounds weight loss, 7 hours of sleep per night, and 10,000 steps a day. But I am going to just do my thing for a day or two and see if I need to adjust the sleep and steps numbers up or down. I want something to shoot for, but I want it to be realistic--I want a reasonable chance of being able to hit my goals.
So there is something I'm kind of into right now.


And then there is my pen thing. In an effort to keep myself from buying anything more for at least a couple of weeks, I decided to dabble in custom ink. On Friday, I made up a sample using my red & blue Pelikan inks, to try and come up with the purple I wanted. I ended up with more-or-less-equal parts of the royal blue and the brilliant red, shook it up, and left it along for a couple of days to see if it did anything weird. Last night, I looked at it and it seemed fine, so I cleaned out my gold Bülow (I'd had the straight Königblau in it, and didn't like it) and filled it up. Success!
The sample of DeArtramentis Blackberry I got from Goulet Pens smelled fantastic--like blackberry Jell-O. But the color was disappointing. It was not as purple as I wanted--going on, it looks too brown, and it sets to a color that is way too rosy for a purple. Pretty, but not the shade I was after. But this color I mixed--just the note of smoky amethyst I was looking for. A redemption for the royal blue--at least I can use it to mix purple! (But I love my brilliant red so much I probably won't want to adulterate it.) The nice thind about mixing your own is you make as little or as much as you want.
And there is another something I'm kind of into right now.
Plus--my sewing supplies came today, and I am totally ready to get my ass to stitching. I'm beyond ready, in fact. I was ready before I realized that I needed some tools, and I was ready before I realized I didn't have a power cord. Now that I am properly equipped at last...watch my dust lint!
And there? Is A THIRD something I'm kind of into right now.
It must be spring.
Y'know--I'm sick of the same old Monday "week-end wind-up", so I think I'll skip it. It was a pretty boring weekend, anyway. Bailey got a flu shot, and that's about the only important thing we did this weekend. Besides--I'm a wee bit miffed at the husband, so I don't feel like bringing him up.

Reading
Who has time to read?! (Me, of course. Don't be silly.) "Calamity Town" (1942), by Ellery Queen. The KPL had it available for download. Plus a couple other Ellerys that are checked out at the moment. Love me some Ellery; I always have. He was my first "grown up" detective, courtesy of the school librarian. She was a big fan, and stocked all the paperback editions.
Also: "His Wife's Deceased Sister", by Frank "The Lady or the Tiger" Stockton. The main character in "The Daughters of the Little Grey House" refers to it, and it sounds kind of intriguing: "Like the man in Stockton's story, 'His Wife's Deceased Sister,'" added Rob. "I hope he won't share that unfortunate author's fate. Wouldn't it be queer if Basil had written one of the six best selling books occurring in the list of sales in each city in the country in varying heights in the column, but always one of the six?"

Listening:
Tuned in to WFMT. Another sign of Spring--I have a sudden craving for classical music.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com