rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















what's more miserable--me, or the weather?
April 10, 2015

We're having horrid stormy weather. Some parts of the region getting tornadoes and hail.

I couldn't get a health screening appointment before 9:15, so I had go coffee and food-free this morning, leaving me with a gigantic headache and a seriously dragging ass.

With no coffee to make, my schedule was thrown off, and I forgot to take my medications this morning.

Then I had to deal with the stupid health screening and "advising". Hate those things.

I'm freezing cold, and getting pretty sick of it.


I wrote the above on Friday, immediately prior to A) finally taking my meds, B) wolfing down a Wendy's lunch, and C) collapsing on my bed for a two-hour power nap.

I awoke much improved, had a cup of coffee, and gently killed a couple of hours before Spouse got off work. I met him out front, and we ran to Charcoal Grill for dinner, then came home, did some laundry, and chilled out for the rest of the evening. My morning had thrown off my equilibrium for the day, so I needed to veg, and Spouse's day had worn him out, as well.
We had more storms through the day and night, but when we got up on Saturday is was sunny and very nice. Spouse had made up his mind that we needed to join Costco ahead of the Pleasant Prairie store opening in June, so we went down I-94 to the Costco at 94 & Rt 60 in Mettawa, and we signed up for a basic membership. VERY nice store. We really liked it. In addition to some primo groceries, I scored a wool/cashmere-blend infinity scarf for next winter for $15.00, a new catch-all crate for the trunk of the Buick...and the cube rat's Holy Grail:

A RED SWINGLINE STAPLER. (squee.)

Very gratifying, and also kind of exhausting--we walked around that store for two hours! He had to check out every inch of the place. I definitely think joining was a good idea, and I'm really looking forward to the new store. I want to look into whether the PP store will have optical (and if so, how much they get for glasses), if they sell perfume, and some other details before I decide whether to keep my Sam's membership or not. But I have time. PP opens in June, and my Sam's card doesn't expire till January.

After we finally got done at Costco, we filled up at their gas pumps before running into Libertyville and picking up a few things at Trader Joe's, and then stopping at Jersey Mike's for a sorely needed lunch. Well, I was certainly famished, and I know Spouse needed to eat--he was barking at me so bad in TJ's, a complete stranger chided him for it. Knowing him as I do, I figured it was just the hunger pangs, so I wasn't taking it personally. But the lady going through the next checkout jumped his shit! Can't say I wasn't a little bit pleased.

We were both much better after eating. I had my favorite combo--a mini #6 (their fabulous roast beef & provolone) with Mrs. Vickie's Sea Salt & Vinegar chips, and a nice big iced tea. Spouse had a larger version #6, plain chips, and a soda.

Once we'd driven back home and put everything away, we were pretty tired. I jumped back into the grind and finished the laundry, and we had a bit of relaxation time before an easy dinner. They had frozen heat-and-serve teriyaki chicken at the Costco, and after we each tried a bite from the sample man, we said "there's dinner!". Spouse had picked up a bag of basmati rice and an Asian vegetable blend at TJ's, and we had a super-easy stir fry for dinner.

Once the dishes were washed, we didn't do much except putter around on our respective wireless devices, and take it easy some more. We had definite plans for Sunday, so we were resting up.

Part of my resting up entailed going to gouletpens.com and doing a little shopping. I finally pulled the trigger on a Pilot Metro, because I finally found one that spoke to me: it's purple, it's got a leopard-pattern detail, and it was $15.00. Of course, I had to get purple Namiki ink for it, as well--and a sample of De Atrementis scented blackberry ink, and a 10-pack of ink-mixing vials, and a set of filler syringes...Hey. I may have a little problem.

But the good news it, all that was only $34.50. Well--and eight bucks shipping, which I was less than thrilled about, but they only offered priority, next day, and warehouse pick-up as options, so I went with the cheapest (priority). They must be used to dealing with impatient pen junkies or something, LOL. I have heard lots of good feedback on various pen forums, so I'm looking forward to getting my Goulet package.
Spouse was up early on Sunday, buzzing around, being prouctive, and making it difficult (but not impossible, hee.) for me to sleep in. Niece/Goddaughter was coming over for a special 22nd birthday Sunday dinner, and there were many things to be done. Once I got up and had my coffee, I joined in the fray. AQ visit from Niece is always a good prod for me to get my bed made and clean my bedroom, plus I scrubbed the bathroom floor and the tub/shower...Spouse had already done the rest of the bathroom, bless him. I washed throw rugs, did a lot of general tidying, and cleaned the kitchen floor as well.

Spouse made country-style ribs in the pressure cooker, steamed corn-on-the-cob, baked cornbread, and baked off the second pan of his homemade baked beans for a farmhouse-style dinner that was out of this world. And dessert was poundcake smothered in fresh strawberries & whipped cream. The birthday girl seemed pretty pleased with it! And she's pretty discerning; a culinary arts degree tends to make you critical.

After dinner, we went outside and compared new vehicles--Spouse showed her the Buick, and she showed us her new ride. In the process of getting her loan re-done to take off her mom as co-signer, she ended up being able to get a fantastic deal on a brand new crossover. After she vetted it through her uncle the automotive finance manager, that is. He crunched the numbers and informed her that it would be foolish not to jump on the deal as offered. She was worried about how we would take it, but after hearing all about it, we agreed that she was being very mature and we're proud of her.

Since she had been up late the night before at her birthday party, Spouse and I told her to go take a little nap on my bed. And since she's perfectly at home in our house, that's just what she did. She has a long ride home, so I was kind of glad she snoozed for an hour first.

After she left, we got the kitchen cleaned up and read for a while, and supper was toast and cereal (and in my case, blackberries) since we'd had a big dinner at 1:30.

Spouse disappeared into his room after supper, and I did my morning prep and watched a couple of 1950s Doris Day movies on TCM before bed (Love Me or Leave Me, and most of Tea for Two). I recorded Mad Men for later. Kind of unusual for me to have the TV on if Spouse isn't in the room, but I was just in a Doris Day mood. Plus, TFT has S.Z. Sakall, Billy De Wolfe and Eve Arden in it, so you know it has its funny moments.

Hey, guess what?! My sewing machine cord arrived. Yay! Now I just have to get my courage up again, so I can use the thing!

READING:
"The Little Grey House" (1904), and "The Daughters of Little Grey House" (1907) by Marion Ames Taggart

LISTENING:
B52s CD box set; specifically "The B-52s" (1979) and "Wild Planet" (1980)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com