rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















heigh-oh, silver
March 25, 2015

So.

I bought a car after all.

Well, I am paying for it, anyway.

Spouse texted me yesterday about a car for sale locally, that he felt was an exeptionally good buy. 2005 Buick LaCrosse CX, clean, great shape, 52, 000 miles, and priced to sell. I am certainly not in love with it--for one thing, it's another goddammed silver car! A couple years older than I wanted to go, as well. Another thing--it it too dang much to ask that I have a car with an audio jack? And a Buick, yet. Does that come with a free AARP membership? My immediate thoughts on him telling me about this...
I don't want a 10-year-old car
I don't want a Buick
I don't want another stinking SILVER car
I don't really want to buy a car FROM that particular dealer
I don't really want to buy a car FOR Spouse
I don't really want to touch my retirement fund, even if it's only a loan, for a car I don't love.
But...
I don't want to have to deal with him pouting because he didn't get his way.

So, last night when he came home from work, despite the fact that I was disgustingly sick from another stupid cold, and already had my pajamas on, and didn't even want the damned car--

We went and bought the damned car.

I KNOW. It's me. It's my fault. I am the only one to blame. I'm an idiot. I'm a pushover. A great big all-day sucker.

But after we pick it up next week, I swear I'm having that thing painted.


Yep. I'm sick again. Another stupid cold. Foggy, achy head, nasal and chest congestion, boiled eyeballs, PND, cough, body aches, chills, sleeplessness--the usual. Can't miss any more work for a while, though, so I dragged my sorry butt into the office the last couple days. Yesterday wasn't too horrible--I had a sore throat and some congestion, but I was able to work, at least. Today, though...I was a wreck. I made the mistake of taking some cold medicine, and I could barely keep my eyes open. Well--I'm pretty sure there were a few times where I didn't keep my eyes open.

Oh--and I managed to pick up a cup of tea and proceed to dump it right down the front of my sweater, as well. So NOT one of my better days, actually. (Good thing I keep a hoodie in my cube--I changed and was able to rinse the sweater out & hang it in front of my electric fan to dry. I was drinking green tea, so it didn't leave any stain.)

Reading:
"The Girl From Keller's" (1917), by Harold Bindloss Listening:
Music is depressing when I feel sick.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com