rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















lets wrap this thing up
December 31, 2014

Not going to dwell on any of this, just pause, reflect, and move on. It is pretty random, as well. No chronology or priority, explicit or implicit.

Well, lets get the big one out of the way first--Mom died. That was very hard to deal with, and I'm not done processing it yet. I miss her.

After a lot of false starts, Spouse once again has a job he loves. And one that fits him like a glove, I might add. He is enjoying it, and I am enjoying that.

My long-time boss/friend/mentor/big sister retired, and left a big hole. Still dealing with that one, too.

At work, I got a new boss, new responsibilities, a new computer with a new operating system, and a new desk--the new desk, I got twice.

I saw three nephews married, and received the lovely news that I am going to be a great-aunt again (to a baby girl!), via my eldest nephew and his wife.

I found out that each of my SILs were diagnosed with cancer.

I spent a lot of time with my Dad, which really was great. We made a lot of progress in the house, and got to enjoy each other's company for the first time in a long time.

I had a physical, a flu shot, a mammogram, and an upper & lower GI. Nothing really wrong with me except thyroid, depression, and weight--and my knees. I blew out my left knee, leaving me with a total of zero good ones. That has complicated things a bit.

We replaced some stuff: washing machine, cookware, cell phones, phone carrier, bed, tires, Christmas tree.
And swapped my microwave for a convection oven. All of that, with the exception of the tree and the convection oven, was necessary stuff, and as for those--well, Christmas. I am not as into the getting of new things as Spouse is, but I have to admit that the new washer makes my life a whole lot easier. Both because it requires fewer trips up and down stairs to do a load, and because Spouse is doing a lot more laundry now that we have it.

I built myself the contemplation garden I'd always wanted in the corner of the back yard. It really helped me get though this past summer.

We had a belated anniversary celebration in Madison last August; we went to the Farmer's Market, stayed in a beautiful hotel, and were treated like royalty at the Bassett St. Brunch Club. And saw Steely Dan (for the sixth time, but the first time at an inside show). I had a good time. If I hadn't been grief-stricken and exhausted, I would have had a much better one.

We each got a tablet--me in March, him in December. Even my Dad has gotten aboard the tablet train--he took over Mom's (never used) Kindle Fire, and has become a tablet big fan. (Having my cousin's teenage son around has helped that along.) I like mine, but find three devices kind of overwhelming at times. No matter which one I'm on, I feel guilty for not using one of the other ones. Spouse just got his, so the jury is still out--but I think he likes it.

I re-discovered my love of fountain pens, and I think that could quite possibly be trouble...

I've written 89 diary entries (including this one), blogged and reblogged and liked all kinds of stuff on Fb and Tumblr, joined--and promptly abandoned--Ello, and spent way too much of my life browsing on reddit.

I spent a lot of time driving, and covered a lot of miles. Just thinking about it makes me retro-actively tired.

Went to Iowa a record four times in one year--two weddings, a family reunion, and Mom's internment service. I wish I could have seen my friends on at least one of those visits, but it was all about family this year.

I got a safe-deposit box for the first time in my life. Haven't actually put anything in it yet, but I got one!

Spent just about every holiday doing nothing much and staying home. I need friends.

Okay, that's enough. Here's to 2015. It might be better, right?


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com