rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















no time
December 22, 2014

Too busy to write much this week. Lots of stuff to do around the house. Work is being brutal. Dentist on Friday, got a locum tenens dentist as my regular Doc is not fully back from maternity leave yet. New hygienist does ultrasonic scaling, which was interesting. Quick, and painless at the time--but a little sore later on. Still, worth a little discomfort to not have to sit there and get manually scraped.

Came home, had lunch, made cookie dough for Saturday, and took a nap. Niece was supposed to be going out to dinner with us, but had to work. So we just got Chinese takeout.


Saturday, got up early, so we could meet P and drop off his fruitcake. He bought us presents (!!!), because I baked for him. I got a B&N gift card, Spouse got a new hoodie. P is such a sweetie. But he has a thing about being in anyone's debt in anyway. Well sometimes the greatest gift you can give is to let them be themselves and not hassle them about it. After that, we went shopping Mt.Pleasant--hit the new Festy for groceries, and I stopped at B&N and tried to find something I wanted to buy. No luck. Then we went to Sam's for a new battery for the ford, to ATT to pay the cable, and to Petsmart to xmas shop for you-know-who. Spouse went a little nuts and bought him three kinds of fancy treats, and EIGHT new toys.

Came home, put everything away, baked off my cookie dough, which came out to exactly enough for 72 cookies, did laundry, and Spouse made slow cooker ribs, oven-roasted potatoes and corn for dinner, which was melt-in-your-mouth good. After dinner, we watched an old Christmas special from 2004 - Chris Isaak. It was surprisingly enjoyable--it had Michael Buble, Stevie Nicks, and Brian McKnight, and was just a really good Christmas concert. Spouse just stumbled on it, and when I heard the music I got hooked, so we ended up really enjoying ourselves watching it.
Sunday, I finished the laundry, and baked off the last cookies--and hit the wall. Sometimes you just know when you are DONE. Niece came over for dinner; Spouse was excited to cook for her and made his lovely roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, and fresh green beans. ALSO melt-in-your-mouth good. We had a nice visit with Niece, and after she left, I did all my Monday prep, sat down and spent my two B&N giftcards online and had an early night.

The gift cards thing is so funny. Bookstore giftcards? There was a time when you could not have pleased me more than that. But I no longer read paper books, I don't have a Nook, and I no longer buy movies or TV shows, either. But after seeing that Chris Isaak thing, I decided I really wanted his Christmas CD, so I looked it up and they had it. They had a lot of cool music for cheap, actually. I got the Christmas CD, a five-album box set of Warren Zevon, a five-album box set of The B-52s, and Green Day's International Superhits--that's TWELVE ALBUMS--for $40.50. (I had $40 worth of gift cards, and came in just under--then they slapped me with tax, so I ended up going over by 50 cents.)

So I ended up finding something to spend those on, and I'm getting some great stuff to listen to in the car. Works for me. So baking is finished, and the cookie exchange is over--it was nothing spectacular. (Honestly--if you aren't going to put your best foot forward, why bother to sign up?) Also not impressive--Nestle's re-boot of the rolled and ready cookie dough. WHAT a disappointment. it was impossible to use for its intended purpose, so I rolled it into balls and made ordinary round cookies out of it. One of the reasons I declared the baking completed.

Spouse took another tray of goodies to work today, which was a big hit. And we sent a few things home with Niece. We really don't have all that much left. Enough to see us through Christmas. Mostly we bake to share, so I am fine with it.

Got my wish for a gift--Santa brought me a little something via UPS today that I am really looking forward to playing with. A set of 7 Pilot Varsity disposable fountain pens in assorted ink colors. Squee!

Reading: Reading: "The Labour-Saving House" (1918), by Mrs. C.S. Peel

Listening: OCR of "The Producers"


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com