rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















this week's blow
October 29, 2014

Pretty much something happening every week to make me hate my job (sometimes every day!), and I got this week's big soggy towel to the face on Tuesday, when I was informed by my boss that she wasn't going to be my boss anymore, and I would be reporting to somebody else come next Monday. I had assumed that she would still be my boss even though the major portion of my project was done. I was wrong.

I know my department is a dying thing, and I know that they really don't know what to do with me. But now I am reporting to a woman who I know is a great person, but her grasp of things is sketchy at the best of times, and this isn't anywhere near the best of times for her, as she is facing pretty much what I did this year--a parent in hospice. It certainly doesn't help matters that since my boss retired in June, I have been reporting to someone in another state--and even though I will have a new supervisor, that much will continue to be true. I don't particularly mind being mostly unsupervised, but the fact is, an on-site boss is somebody who can see what is going on and advocate for you when necessary. I realized when I was moved without prior consultation that there was no one representing me in the decisions, because it never occurred to the on-site team managers that they would need to consult anyone in another office--in another time zone--about a move in this one.

So this shit isn't going to get any better, any time soon.


So. I pulled the trigger on my benefits--gonna take the PPO plan while I can still get it, and deal with the HSA when I have no choice. I also did the open enrollment stuff for my portable policies--cancelled my useless accident policy, looked into but declined (premiums would be over $12 a week. Too high!) a critical illness policy, and let it ride on our life policies. The guy seemed a little taken aback when I hauled off and told him just how complicated and pointless the accident plan was, but whatever. He pressed for details. I let him have it. And also let him know that the reason I couldn't afford the critical illness policy was that I couldn't afford to rob the WHEN to pay towards the IF. As nice as it would be to have a safety net if I got sick--I have actual, real bills every month, and I need my money to pay for those. This is how poverty works.
Speaking of spending money--Spouse was obviously totally ready to make the move on a new washer. He dragged me to Lowe's tonight to order it. He got his 10% Veteran's discount, and his Friday afternoon delivery, too. Along with Auntie�s $50 birthday gift card, the discount made the thing way more affordable�under $500.00, even when we included new, stainless-steel hoses. With tax, delivery, installation and haul-away, that�s a really good deal.

But--I'm still having a hard time with it. I don't know if I am going to like a high efficiency washer. I DO know I don't want to have to learn a new piece of machinery after 20 years. I've had that Speed Queen for like 40% of my life at this point, and it's a tough adjustment.

Then again, I just finally gave in on getting a gooseneck kitchen faucet, and I adore that. Maybe the change will be a good thing. As Spouse says--at the very least, it will be easier on our knees; the large capacity will mean fewer loads, and the dispenser system will mean not having to run down and catch the rinse cycle all the time. Most assuredly, it will be cheaper to run, as well. And I will be able to run loads on a time-delay, which will be very nice.

Might as well accept it, since the dang thing is already ordered and paid for, right?



Reading: Kindred of the Dust (1920), by Peter B. Kyne
"�because people prefer to have their thoughts manufactured for them; because fanatics and hypocrites have twisted the heart out of the Christian religion in the grand scramble for priority in the 'Who's Holier than Who' handicap; because people who earnestly believe that God knows their inmost thoughts cannot refrain from being human and trying to put one over on Him." ��From Kindred of the Dust� (1920), by Peter B. Kyne

Listening: The Black Keys, Peter Himmelman, REM, Pearl Jam, Otis Redding


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com