rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















good news/bad news
September 17, 2014

The good news is that the doctor visit was much quicker than I expected. No students this time, and since I wasn't due for a pap, it was fairly effortless. Plus it was very quiet there for a change, and I hardly had to wait at all before getting into a room. There was a bit of a wait for the doc, but I still got there at 4:20 and was out the door at 5:31.

The bad news is--he's decided I not only need a mammogram and a basic colonoscopy--I need an UPPER and LOWER GI. He has a thing about people with GERD getting checked, because of Barrett's and esophageal cancer. That's a referral, so I have to wait for the gastroenterologist's office to call me for that one. (I already scheduled my mammo for the day after my birthday, at 7:15 in the morning. I'm off that day, and I can at least get it out of the way early in the day, and then put on my lotion, deodorant, and perfume.) I've had the procedure(s) before, so I know what to expect dread. The fasting (yesterday was bad enough!), the popsicles & Jello & candy...BUT NOTHING RED. The pain of going several days without any aspirin or Aleve. The flushing (of both me AND the commode!), the gagging (the last time I had an upper GI, I heaved all over the doctor), the Demerol...

...oh, wait. The Demerol is the FUN part!

And on a related note, I just got my flu shot voucher in the mail, so I have to go get THAT pretty soon. Damn, that's a lot of medical crap for a person who isn't even sick!

He was pretty happy with me, overall--weight aside. He nags me about that pretty steadily. He seemed like he was okay with my mental state, considering all the stuff with my mom and what he calls my "dysfunctional family dynamics". No more depression and anxiety than one would expect in that situation, apparently.

I will find out today or tomorrow if my T4 is where it is supposed to be. Once the labs are back they will know if I get a new prescription or a re-auth for my current dosage. And on the same subject, B's T4 is exactly where it is supposed to be.


I will probably go down to see Dad this weekend--I really am not looking forward to it, but it's my turn. It isn't so much what I have to do--spend the weekend down there with him and working my butt off--as what I have to give up--staying up here and working my butt off. I do not have time in my life to get it all in.

It sounds like my brother may be planning to have this big garage sale the first weekend in October. As I said, with my birthday on the 7th, the mammogram on the 8th, rehearsal dinner on the 9th, and the wedding on the 10th, I REALLY don't want to spend the preceding weekend down there--especially if SSIL is there.

And speaking of HER...Spouse has basically laid down the law that he will no longer be attending any family function where SSIL is present. He hates her and flat-out refuses to be around her, even for me or for my dad. And what can I say, really? If I could get out of it, I certainly would!



Reading: "The Wheat Princess", an early (1905) Jean Webster book that she wrote while spending the winter of 1903�4 in Italy with her mother. She's got the activism thing going here, but she hasn't yet found a way to make it as charming as in her later books.

Listening: Truthfully, mostly just the incessant chatter of that incredibly annoying stick-insect two bays over from my desk at work. Once I'm in the car, I just enjoy the relative peace and quiet of being alone, and leave the radio off. The commercial breaks are so frequent, and so long, these days that I'm lucky if I hear 3 songs in a 45-minute commute, anyway.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com