rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















knee pain
September 15, 2014

I have no clue what I did to make my left knee hurt so bad, but it is awful right now. And that's my "good" knee! The weather got cool, and BAM--every joint in my body aches.

Didn't keep me from schlepping laundry up and down the stairs, or picking up B's crap, or helping Spouse mow the grass, or baking cookies, or making a pot of homemade beef stew, or doing the shopping...it should have, but it didn't.


It was a very quiet weekend. We didn't even leave the property on Sunday. Both of us were feeling so achy that we just got through what we had to get done, and chilled out.

I still couldn't manage to get up enough oomph to dye my hair, though. As badly as it needs doing, I just hate that particular chore.

But I did do my nails--Colormates "Purple Haze" (a legacy bottle from Mom) as a base color under my new OPI "Significant Other Color". It was too sheer by itself, but the orchid color underneath sets it off quite nicely. I am finally getting to the point where I don't have to do a full manicure every time, but they did require trimming and filing. I am not trying to grow them past a certain length, because that's what always gets me into trouble. When they get long, they bother me--and the first time I get tense, I chew them down to nubs. So I clipped them down to "just past the fingertip" and filed them neatly. They aren't shaped right for a long look, anyway.
I took B in for his thyroid test on Friday, and picked up his newest meds. Technically, I guess this is some kind of supplement--an enzyme for his liver that he's got to be on for 6 weeks, to see if it helps get his test numbers back in line. I sure hope it does, I want my pup to stay as healthy and vigorous as possible!
I talked to my dad on Sunday morning, and Spouse talked to Auntie. Sounds like both of them are trucking right along. Dad is making big strides in getting things ready for an auction, and my oldest brother mentioned that they may have a garage sale the weekend of the autumn festival, but that's the weekend before my birthday and I really do not want to go down there. Especially since we have the wedding coming up the following Thursday and Friday. And W's birthday is coming up in a couple of weeks, too...she's been bugging me to do something with them.
I'm so tired I can't even contemplate another flurry of activity--we seem to have had an influx of large, loud dogs into the neighborhood this year, and they bark all. the. damned. time. I didn't fall asleep until after 11 last night, and that's bad news when the alarm goes off at 4:28.

I have my physical tomorrow, but I don't even want to bring up my moods. I'm not looking forward to it--even without a pap smear this year. I know he's going to want me to go for a colonoscopy and another mammogram. Plus, it's such a long, drawn- out affair. I have to fast all day for the bloodwork, the appointment is at 4:30, and it will easily be a good two hours. Probably closer to three, what with him always running behind, and having to do everything once with the students, and once again with him.. Maybe I can talk them into doing the blood draw first, so I can have a granola bar or something. I am taking a half-day so I can come home and throw something in the crockpot, then shave and shower before my appointment. And since my out-of-town bosses are in town, and we have a big meeting tomorrow morning, I am really going to be glad to be leaving at 10:30.



Reading: "The Wheels of Time" (1908), "The Rosary" (1909) and "The Mistress of Shenstone" (1910), by Florence L. Barclay. These are the three books that make up what I like to call the Jane Champion trilogy, even though she's not a central character in the first or the last. This is one of those situations where I found the last one first, and ended up reading them in reverse order. They are rather preposterous, ridiculously over the top when it comes to "pure, true love", and quite heavy on the religiousness (the author was daughter and wife of Anglican rectors). But somehow I kind of liked them. Mainly I liked Jane Champion, tremendously. And a likeable character can carry me through a lot of preposterousness.

Listening: Peter Bjorn and John, Foster the People, Steely Dan


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com