rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















spendy weekendy
September 08, 2014

Oomph. This weekend was quite a hit to the wallet. On Friday, ran out to Sally Beauty--and into trouble. I still can't believe I spent $36.00 in there! I got two bottles of OPI polish: "Aphrodite's Pink Nightie", which is my absolute favorite pearly pink ever. (And I love me some pearly pink.) It's awfully thick for an OPI, though. And "Significant Other Color", a sheer metallic duochrome in a pinkish lavender shade with green/gold opalescence.

Plus a new bottle of Orly "Sec N Dry", which is my favorite speed-drying topcoat, a bottle of nail-laquer thinner so I can reclaim some bottles that have gone goopy, and a box of Nail Tees. Which I can only describe as "pointy Q Tips". They give wonderful precision for manicure cleanups, if you have shaky hands like mine. I also toyed with the idea of buying haircolor there, but the pro stuff seemed pretty intimidating.

After I dropped a chunk there, I got my hair cut and brows waxed at 1:00--another $31.00. I certainly needed it; couldn't really skip that expense. I was already overdue.

Then I took the Ford over to the tire store and had them replace the two front tires. Got an inexpensive, "off" brand called "Sonny"--two tires, mounted and balanced, and old tires disposed of--in a half-hour, and for under two-hundred. ($183.57, to be exact.) Incredible how much better the car is riding now! I hated the way those Sam's tires rode from the day Spouse had them put on, and they just got worse over time. Glad to be rid of them. The right-side front was pretty shot from uneven ride, so I really had to get that taken care of, too.

All that spending and human interaction left me spent, in every sense of the word. I was more than happy to head home and cuddle up with the B for a good nap. I got home about the same time the thunderstorm hit, though, so I had to settle for B making a himself a hidey-hole between my bed and the wall.

When Spouse got home, he was so happy that I took care of the tires that he brought me a present--a Dremel pumpkin carving set! AND he made a nice fish-fry dinner: beer-battered cod, shoestring fries, and some deli coleslaw to go with. Quite yummy--and I didn't have to get dressed and go out, which was even better.


Saturday morning, the spending started afresh with B's annual physical. The vet said he looked really good. He was especially pleased with the weight loss. B got his vaccinations, which included his 6-month heartworm shot plus the 3-year rabies which was due this year. He also got a check-up and his usual chem panel. We have to go back this Friday for his thyroid draw, though; they have to do that 4-6 hours after his pill, so that requires some special planning to get him in there in the right window. So that was $250, plus more to come this week. But again, this is an expense you have to face if you have a furball for a best friend.

After we got the dog home, we took off again and ran our usual errands. Walmart, grocery store, etc. Came home and got it all stowed, then Spouse crashed for a nap, since he hadn't slept well.

I had picked a plastic tote for my nail supplies, which had outgrown their shoebox. I got the perfect size--holds everything, still fits under the bed for storage. (I would love a polish rack to hang on the wall, but I really doubt that I will get one. Maybe I will come over all crafty and build one of my own.) So after I started some laundry going, I sat down and sorted though it all, chucking some stuff that was beyond redemption, adding thinner to some bottles that looked like they could be saved.

Got it all organized in the new container, and then--I actually did my nails. I did all the pre-polish work on my manicure, took a break to get the laundry where I wanted it, and then took advantage of a window of peace and quiet to get the polish on and dried. The new pink looks smashing. As I said, it's my new fave. It's a strong enough shade to make an impact, but not a hot shade. Or "Barbie Pink". And the pearliness it just right to soften it and make it gleam. I like my polish to gleam.

After it dried, I continued towork on the laundry until it was time to go out to dinner. We went out to the place where we'd gone for our anniversary, since I wanted a ribeye and Spouse wanted prime rib. And on the way home from Cudahy, we stopped at the Sonic in Oak creek and got ice cream. It was a perfectly gorgeous evening, so we took the back roads home and just enjoyed the ride.
Sunday started early--the B was tossing his cookies all over the back hall, and I was paying the price for too much rich food the night before, so we were pretty much all up by 4:00. I tried to lay back down, but since I couldn't fall back asleep, I got up and relaxed with some coffee while Spouse transferred my micro-SD card and wiped the old phones. Then Spouse made a simple breakfast of eggs, hash browns and toast.

After that, we took turns tackling the bathtub. He gave the tub an preliminary scrubbing, and after it was rinsed, I gave it a finishing scrub, and cleaned the shower walls and door. Spouse mowed and trimmed out front while I got cleaned up, and then came in and let me run the trimmer over his neck. It was getting awfully shaggy.

After he got showered and dressed, we ran out to BB and traded in the Galaxy S2s for a $50 gift card. I spent my $25 on a 48-pack of AA batteries (for my pumpkin carver!) and a new pair of Sony earbuds. Not green, unfortunately, but they are really good headphones, and black is always a safe bet.

I left the other $25.00 on there for Spouse to spend. He may find something on line that he wants. Honestly, I had a hard time coming up with things I wanted to buy. I don't buy music anymore--I just listen to my large collection, the radio, or Pandora. As for movies, I have about a quarter of a million unwatched DVDs and Blu Rays that I bought before I realized that I wasn't really watching movies anymore. Plus all the movie channels, on demand movies, etc. If I really wanted to see a movie, I can do it with out a trip to the Big Blue Box. And I don't need software, or a $40 phone cover, or a zillion other things they peddle. But I still can get through a fair amount of AA batteries, LOL.

Since Spouse felt there was still money to be got through, we headed over to Menards after we got done at BB. He wanted to polish the headlight lenses on the Ford, but he needed a new kit with the drill attachment. And then he decided an new drill to put it on! Whatever. Who am I to point my (immaculately, expensively laquered) fingertips at him for wanting to buy himself something?

Sigh. I just wish my money would at least wave to me on the way by...

So after quick stop to pick up a sympathy card for GSIL (she just lost her remaining brother to cancer) we went home and Spouse polished the lenses while I baked four dozen cookies for him to take to work on Monday. (Yeah--how did that happen?) Our early rising took its toll, though--and we all crashed for a good long nap. Which messed us up royally. When we crawled out at 5, neither of us felt like cooking. I had Corn Chex with bananas, he had a sandwich, and that was that. I had planned on dying my hair yesterday, but I just ran out of go juice, I guess. I will get to it this week, I suppose.



Reading: "Oh, Money! Money!" (1918), by Eleanor H. Porter. Description from Ambling Books: Mr. Stanley Fulton is worth millions, but he has no one to leave his money to except some unknown distant cousins. In order to find out how they would handle a fortune, he decides to give each of them $100,000 dollars during his life, and go � incognito - to live in their midst! Who will prove worthy to inherit his millions and will his deception be discovered?

Listening: Paloma Faith, Adele, Duffy, Jasmine Thompson, Amy Winehouse, Lorde, Kimbra. Apparently I need some U.K. Girl Soul today.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com