rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















variety
September 04, 2014

It has been a while since I indulged in a really furious diatribe about co-workers. Since I changed desk locations, I have been trying to be more mellow about that kind of thing. BUT OMG. LOOKOUT--SHE'S GOING TO BLOW.

There is a particular person who, although she sits 2 bays away, has a voice that carries so fraking well that she may as well be sitting in my chair with me. And every morning, she runs her mouth non-stop for at least two hours. I say at least, because it is already well up and running when I get there. and when I say "runs her mouth", I mean that there is only a slight chance that her brain is along for the ride.

This morning it was a long, drawn out whine about the horrible people she is forced to mingle with if she goes to Walmart. Stupid associates, dirty people, lazy people, blah blah blah blah blah. Last week, it was the horrible neighbors she is forced to live in close proximity to. (Essentially, all people who are oblivious to the wonderful specialness of her own unique snowflake self are horrible people.)

Every story is the same--the world is full of mean and hasty people, and they all seem to congregate around her--the innocent victim.

Really--the only thing worse than listening to her rag about people is listening to her sing her songs of praise about any living creature that falls within the shadow of her awesomeness--her daughter, her dog--and OMG, her special, splendid, sparkling, (SPOILED) fairy princess of a granddaughter.

Maybe I would tolerate her better if she wasn't such a "mutton dressed as lamb" type. I know it's wrong of me, but I have a hard time standing 50-year-old grandmothers who get themselves up like Marcia Brady. (For that matter, I am doing here just what I complain about her doing--bitching about having to bear the unpleasantness of others. But if I can't confess these things to my diary, who CAN I tell?)

Probably not, though. She just blabs so INCESSANTLY. I swear, the only reason she's a runner is to develop her wind so she never has to shut up.


There. THAT's out of the way. On to more pleasant subjects.

My new phone case came on Tuesday, and it's beautiful. A little more slippery than I'd expected, though. Will have to either wear it in a bit or just get used to it. I got an inexpensive one, so if I feel like a change I will certainly swap it out for something else, but I like how unusual this one is--if there is a phone pile, I'm going to know which one is mine. The only thing is, my inner obsessive is screaming at me that I need to get a new set of earbuds, because my red ones (bought to complement my red phone case) clash dreadfully. Of course I want green ones, but I could go with black or white.

If I HAD to.

I suppose.
I have been working on improving my hands a bit. I've been wearing nail polish for about the last month, and rubbing on the Bag Balm every night, and I am seeing some improvement. I would be doing much better if I would just remember to put on my gloves before I washed the dishes, though. (That dish soap sucks every bit of life and moisture out of my poor mitts--and screws up my polish, too.) But they are definitely looking nicer than they did before. I need to get my hubby, the power tools guy, to buy me an electric multi-tool so I can do precision buffing, filing, and cleanup!
Speaking of which--he really loves his job. And seems to be very happy--which make me happy, for a variety of reasons from emotional to economic. He's even perfectly fine with the telephone customer service that I figured he would hate. I guess he's basically talking to professional tool users on the calls, so they are "his people", so to speak.

He really feels comfortable in the workplace culture, too, which makes a huge difference for him. He actually took a crockpot full of meatballs to work today for the Packers Potluck, and I don't think he's done anything like that since he worked in Antioch back in the 1990s.

I know better than to paint any rosy pictures, but for now, he's employed, satisfied, and bringing home a paycheck.

Reading: Reading: Up to my old tricks, with three books going at once.
"The Untold History of Television Mad Men"(2011), by Kathleen Olmstead--still struggling with this one, but there is no hurry.

"That Girl Montana" (1901), by Marah Ellis Ryan. I am maintaining a moderate level of interest, and it is going along fairly well. I'm on chapter 9, and there's just enough peeling off and layering of the levels of mysteriousness to keep me reading. The hero is a decent guy, too. That always helps. I'm still not sure how I feel about the title character...but then, I don't think I'm supposed to be at this point.

And in addition to the above, I started "Aprilly"(1921), by Jane Abbott, which is sort of a candy book. Light, sweet, predictable, and goes down easy. About the orphaned daughter of a circus bareback rider, and her struggles to find a place she belongs.

Listening: Tom Petty, Radiohead, Ben Harper, Gotye.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com