rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















more than the minimum
July 21, 2014

I have been actively engaging with the enemy this week; instead of lying down and and letting depression steamroll me into a misery pancake, I have been making a point of getting up and doing things. (Depression hates activity.)

On Friday, I will admit that I took a solid nap--but afterwards, I actually went out to a ballgame! Our local Northwoods League (summer league for college players) team is very good, and the whole organization it well-run, brilliantly conceived and executed, and a very affordable, whopping good time. We left early, because the game was dragging (our team had 14 at-bats in the 5th inning!), and because we wanted to be at home when the post-game fireworks started (we only live a mile or two from the stadium) because of the dog. Judging by what time the fireworks finally went off, it must have been a 4-hour game! But the Kingfish beat Wisconsin Rapids 21-4, with 4 home runs, so that was good to hear.

Another thing I did last week to fight back was to order a "body cycle" online. I got it from walmart.com, for $24.77 shipping included, and it came via FedEx in two days! It's basically a set of pedals--it's small, compact, lightweight-yet-sturdy, you can use it with your arms or your legs, and I can do it at my desk at work, which is the main reason I bought it. It is an investment in my health, and one I will actually use, so I splurged.

And I already want a second one for home! I love it. It doesn't seem to bother my hip or knees much, and I can be on a conference call, but be happily peddling away, getting my exercise.

Over the weekend, every time I found myself sitting in my chair being broody, I got up and cleaned, fixed, or made something. So I did housework, laundry, yardwork, and even messed about in the kitchen. Since I had all the ingredients, I made an antipasto salad with lemon vinaigrette dressing. it had tr-color rotini, black olives, red and green sweet peppers, carrots, broccoli, pepperoni, mozzarella cheese, and grape tomatoes in it, and it. was. fabulous. And I made another batch of frozen fruit pops, using V-8 Fusion concord grape/raspberry and fresh dark cherries. This combination comes out so well! They are insanely delicious and refreshing.

And I made it a point to spend more time outside, swimming & vacuuming the pool, playing with B, and futzing with my flowers. The swimming was great, and the water was crystal-clear...until Spouse decided to go against the water analyst's very specific instructions for adding the chemicals, and dump in a pound and a half of Ph increaser (there were two other chemicals he was supposed to add first, then wait twelve hours, THEN add the PH increaser. Next thing you know--pool looks like a giant glass of skimmed milk. Hopefully he'll be able to get it clear again, but damn, that pissed me off. And it really did a number on my hair, too.


we bought a watermelon and a muskmelon at the store on Saturday, and while it was a superb muskmelon, the watermelon was completely white, hard, dry and bitter inside. I was ready to chalk it up to the luck of the draw and Mother Nature's whimsey, but when we popped in to pick up a few more things on Sunday, Spouse happened to mention it within the hearing of the produce manager, who rushed up, took up to the back room, selected and split a melon to make sure it was okay, and then wrapped it and wrote no charge on it. All the time being super friendly and nice and totally cool.

I love that store so much. I actually have a crush on it, I think. I call Pick-n-Save the "Try-n-Save" because they are expensive and always run out of sale items, but I think I am going to start calling Festival "Best of All".
The major expense of the weekend was definitely the brakes on the Ford. I told Spouse they were making noises. And while he usually tells me I'm daffy if I say there's something wrong with the car, this was so obvious that as soon as he drove it he had to agree. So Spouse spent a hundred on pads and rotors, and his buddy the mechanic came over and did the brake job right in our driveway for forty bucks. We got off cheap, and it was a necessary expense--but I really can't afford stuff like that to pop up too often.

Speaking of Spouse and money--still no job, although he has had many interviews and this morning, a drug test. A lot of these places are pretty decent, too. I am very nearly optimistic about it. There's no guarantee they'll stay that way, or that Spouse wouldn't manage to furk it up some how. But hope springs eternal in the human breast.
(CAUTION, VENT AHEAD) And somehow, despite his conspicuous lack of gainful employment--he decided he deserved, and "we" could afford, to buy a $38.00 box of cigars. REALLY? I am trying to forgive him for it, but dayum, it is so hard. I just cannot see how anyone in his position could justify it.

I am extremely mellow, normally. I don't want him to feel bad when he isn't working, and if he needs something, he should certainly buy it. But when we only have my income, we both should be doing without stupid sh!t we don't need. And maybe even some of the stuff we do need. I gave up my back & hip adjustments, for crying out loud. I've given up buying expensive handbags and DVDs. No books and music that aren't free. My entire entertainment budget is the phone & internet payment.

Three and a half years ago, for ecomical reasons among others, I gave up cigarettes. I need shoes, I need pants, I go too long between haircuts, I shop at the warehouse club to save money, and my poor house continues to desperately need painting inside and out.

And he, ever the tone-deaf, clueless spoiled brat...bought a box of cigars.

*sigh*

Oh, well. Now I don't feel sorry about keeping the $30.00 my mom and dad put in our anniversary card, and not telling him about it.



Reading: "Mrs. Day's Daughters" (1913), by Mary E. Mann

Listening: Blind Melon, Blink 182, Live, Green Day


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com