rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I can't even
June 23, 2014

I hate to put up a bunch of posts all at once, but shortly after I wrote the last post on Thursday, and before I could upload it, my husband came home from work to tell me that he no longer had a job. So I kind of got distracted.

So. It is very hard to come up with any sort of emotional response to that, given that all of my emotional supply as it pertains to that set of events was used up years ago. I did allow myself the rare treat of shedding approximately 6 tears, but those were more related to my fear and uncertainty over the future than about him.

I gave him a reasonable amount of hell about it--enough for him to fully realize that I wasn't buying his story about how it came to happen. I was particularly proud of myself for telling him, in no uncertain terms, just how much he is hurting me when this shit happens, and I outright got in his face and laid it out for him how shaky things are in MY career at the moment.

Then I dropped it. Because he costs me enough of my tiny supply of emotional energy with this stuff, and I refuse to spend anymore. There's just no return on the investment. He's not going to change, no matter what I say or do.


When I got home on Friday, I started the laundry, took some ribs out to thaw for dinner, and then Spouse and I went out and knocked out the small edging project that we'd been putting off for a couple of weeks. I wanted him to put the PT in the driveway, and we had to get the edging in, so we could move the big pile of rock out of the drive. That didn't take too long, and when we were done, we put B in the car and drove down to the lakefront so I could give him his Friday walk. When we got home, I did a few chores, advanced the laundry, and then crashed for a couple of hours; I was feeling pretty wrung out. When I woke up, Spouse had started a nice dinner of country-style BBQ ribs and oven-browned potatoes. I made a salad, and we had a nice supper. Then I baked a loaf of banana bread, because we had three very ripe bananas to dispose of.

It was a chilly, rainy, foggy weekend, for the most part. There were a few short windows where the weather wasn't too bad, though it was muggy. We took a slow, leisurely approach to getting up on Saturday, but we both puttered around fairly productively. Spouse had done a bit of the basic housework while I was at work on Friday morning, so I was able to tackle a few of the less regular chores. We eventually got cleaned up and dressed, then went out to pick up B's dry food and do the grocery shopping. Came home, put everything away, finished the laundry, and relaxed for a little while. Spouse decided he needed to tackle the front lawn, but I didn't jump up and offer to help. It's not that big of a job--it wasn't gonna kill him to do it by himself.

Oh, and we also had a kitchen experiment. Last week, when I was standing in the grocery store listening to him whine about the fact that he really wanted Russian dressing and he couldn't find it anywhere, I snapped at him that "if he was such a good cook, why didn't he MAKE some Russian dressing if he wanted it so bad?" Well, on Saturday, he decided he wanted to do just that. I looked up the recipe on my phone while we were shopping, we made sure we got all the ingredients. And after whining about how it was so hard to whisk by hand, and how it was such a pain to clean the blender, he remembered he has a power whisk attachment on the hand mixer, and he got busy and made it.

It was pretty damned good, I have to admit. Thick, rick, tangy-sweet, fresh and delicious. Also fattening as hell, like most of his creations.

He made another nice dinner on Saturday night; a chicken stir-fry over Basmati rice that was quite delicious. We had another quiet evening at home.
Sunday morning, he got up and made a big breakfast that I didn't really want. Oh, I ate it. And it was delicious (eggs, bacon, hash browns and toast)...I just would not have chosen to have a big breakfast yesterday. It was dismal and foggy again when we got up, so we weren't sure what we were going to get done. We ran to the home improvement store and the dollar store so he could feel better by spending money he didn't have on junk we didn't need.

I swear, I didn't marry my dad, I married my MOTHER. Menard's was selling this tiny little tablet from Polaroid for $40, with a $10 rebate. With a screen that's smaller than my phone and with the resolution of a 1980's TV, I thought it was crap. But he wanted it!

AND he decided that I needed the cheap-ass RCA 4-gig MP3 player that runs on a AAA battery WHY he decided that, I've no idea. Beats me. But it was $10, with a $5 rebate, so by all means, hey? I have no idea if it is any good or not. I didn't even take it out of the package. Because I DIDN'T WANT IT.

And that didn't even satisfy his retail jones--we had to go to the new Dollar Tree and buy a bunch of stuff he thought we "needed". Well, I guess I am like my dad, because I went along with it. At least it's cheap, and some of it is useful. I got a whisk broom for brushing off the patio furniture, some glass cleaner wipes, and some foil pans.

Fortunately, the weather broke for a while late on Sunday morning, and we got some fresh breezes and sunshine. Of course, then we were obliged to mow and trim the BACK yard, so we did that & got it out of the way.

Since I'd gotten through the laundry pretty quickly on Saturday, I stripped & changed the beds and did up the sheets. I also took apart the vacuum and cleaned it throroughly (OMG--he lets it get so clogged up!), cleaned the kitchen floor, scoured the sink, and washed up the dishtowels and the placemats.

Spouse had planned on grilling a hunk of sirloin and having it for dinner, but he changed his mind. There was plenty of good salad stuff in the house, including the stuff HE thinks should be on a salad, like ham, bacon, and hard-cooked eggs. So we just had big chef's salads with our fresh Russian dressing and the home-made garlic croutons he'd made to use up some leftover bakery buns. Pretty fantastic light dinner, actually.

After dinner, I went out and puttered around with my flowers a bit, and then came in and got my stuff ready for Monday morning, then watched some old MST3K shorts while I scanned tumbler & Fb, and played Flipwords. Another terribly exciting weekend in the life of me.

Reading: The awful, lunatic brilliance that is a Mary Jane Holmes novel: "Family Pride, Or, Purified by Suffering" (1867), by Mary J. Holmes. Wow. If one has read her work, I need not explain her, if one has not read her work, I cannot explain her. (The one-sentence synopsis: A selfish, stuck-up prick marries a sweet and innocent young country girl.)

Listening: I'm really too down for listening to music at the moment-- I'm not somebody who finds relief in it. I'm always afraid I'll end up associating my favorite music with bad feelings, and ruin it.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com