rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















lo-pro weekend
June 09, 2014, 2014

Spouse hurt himself in a slip-and-fall at work last week (Thursday); he ended up with Friday off and some pain pills & muscle relaxers. From what I could see, he was okay�just strained his back a little. It didn�t stop him from anything he wanted to do�he just had to go slower and easier.


Friday was a really sad day at work; my boss's last day. I'm really going to miss her. She wasn't the perfect boss, but she was pretty damned good. And I understood her. We worked really well together, and for a really long time. It's really going to suck having her gone.
It was a fairly quiet weekend� kinda had to be. Not only did we have Spouse�s back to contend with, but just as I was going to bed on Friday night, I got my period for the first time in about three months, and it is a doozy. Made for a fitful night�s sleep.
We had a pizza night on Friday night; I ran over to the Festival and picked up the ingredients and we each made one to suit ourselves. Mine was light sauce, pepperoni, mushrooms, black olives, and green peppers, with sliced mozzarella and provolone. (torn up slices give the best melt!) Fantastic--but I had it for lunch Saturday and Sunday, as it was so satisfying I couldn't do more than two slices at a time! (not to mention the period-related indigestion slowing me down.)
Saturday morning we go up and had coffee and rolls in the back yard, and then carefully worked our way through getting all the yard work done before we showered and dressed and headed out for shopping. Usual places�pool store, Wally�s & Sam�s, gas station, grocery store. Basic stuff. Came home, put it all away, had lunch, made a quick batch of homemade vanilla ice cream base, worked on the laundry, took a nap. Got up and Spouse was feeling experimental in the kitchen. He made The Pioneer Woman's Crash Potatoes recipe (divine!), we split a burgundy-pepper sirloin, & sweet corn on the grill. My end was dessert--I froze the ice cream while he was working on dinner, put it into the freezer to ripen, and washed & stemmed some fresh strawberries to go with it. Quite a delightful dinner.
While Spouse had made his usual calls to my mom and auntie, I talked to my dad yesterday. He is going crazy having to be at home with my mom all day, and he is having edema issues�probably due to the reduced activity of retirement. The doctor ruled out liver and kidney problems, and told him he has mild heart disease. Put him on Lasix for the edema and told him he needs to move more. He seems so miserable. He hates being retired so much. It wouldn't be so much of a problem if my mom would let him out of her sight, but she is deteriorating exactly the same way as my uncle, and panics if Daddy isn't right there. And much as it was for Auntie, that is torture for Dad.
Apart from phone calls with relatives, our Sunday consisted of:

a fantastic breakfast of hash browns and grilled ham steak (courtesy of Spouse), scrambled eggs and toast (provided by moi), and lashings of lovely coffee.

A trip out to the Veteran's Cemetery in Union Grove to decorate Papa's niche for his 84th Birthday (the 10th) and Father's Day (the 15th). Sigh. I miss Papa so much.

A stop at the Sturtevant Walmart to pick up some curtain tie-backs for my bedroom, and some new aqua-socks for Spouse (his answer to sandals).

Spouse and me taking it easy, finishing off the laundry (and my pizza), puttering about the house, and a super-easy dinner of tossed salad, grilled pork chops, and saucepan stuffing. More ice cream and berries for dessert.

After the dishes were done, Spouse went to stretch his back out on the bed, while I decided to blow off the Tony awards and just spend the evening reading. I keep finding other stuff to do instead of reading, so for once I figured I'd just make it a priority to settle with a nice, relaxing book for a while. And once that got boring, I fiddled around with tumblr for a while, played a game of flipwords, did my prep for morning, and toddled off to bed.
Today was kind of a downer, although it seemed to go by fairly quickly. I had heartburn and indigestion all day, my joints ached like stink, and my allergies were off the chain. When I got home, I stumbled on the reason why--I forgot to take my pills this morning, like a goof. Not the levothyroxine or the B-Complex, but the second round that I usually take after my shower--arthritis, allergy, stomach, vitamin D, and antidepressant. I wasn�t having a very good morning. I actually had to stop at a gas station on the way to work, for an emergency bathroom break. And with the above-mentioned symptoms, it made for a pretty yucky day. The news of Rik Mayall�s sudden passing added to the gloom, as well.

Once I got home, I decided I needed another reading respite, so I eschewed the web and just finished my book, worked on this entry, and then had a rowdy game of fetch/catch with the B until Spouse came home at 6:45. He had texted me earlier requesting I boil some eggs for him to put on top of a salad for dinner, so once he got home I put together a couple of nice green salads with sliced egg on top, and threw in a handful of chopped ham, leftovers from Sunday breakfast. It made a nice, light dinner. Tomorrow, we will probably finish the grilled chops from Sunday; they were so massive that Spouse and I decided we would have been better off splitting one. We each left half of ours on our plates. I�ll heat them up, throw on some basmati rice to steam, put a steamer bag of veg in the microwave, and call it dinner.

One more note; I heard good news and bad news on family members�good news is, my SIL won�t need chemo or radiation; surgery got all the cancer. And the bad news is, my cousin�s brain tumor is growing again. That is such a stab to the heart, I can�t even tell you. Not just feeling it for D, but for his four young kids, and for his dear, sweet sister who soldiers on through it all, being a rock for her family. (It may be pure family prejudice, but I couldn�t care less about his estranged wife.)



Reading: �The Twenty-Fourth of June--Midsummer's Day� (1914), by Grace S. Richmond, �Aunt Jane of Kentucky� (1907) & �The Land of Long Ago� (1909), by Eliza Calvert Hall

Listening: The Clash, Vance Joy, Foster the People, Stray Cats, Cheap Trick, They Might Be Giants, Churchill


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com