rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















black jelly beans and rich tea biscuits...
May 05, 2014

...are two weird (for around here) things I like that I don't get very often. But because there are never enough black jelly bean lovers to absorb the Easter supply, I get them after the holiday, plucked from clearance sale shopping carts at two bags for a dollar.

And because we go to the sausage shop/European grocery at Easter, I can get my mitts--and my mouth--on the imported biscuits (and fancy teas) I love.

The best thing about both those items? I love them, but I am not tempted to go overboard on them. A small amount satisfies.


I had a busy weekend--busier than Spouse had, anyway. I did so many loads of wash I honestly lost count. I completely cleaned the bathroom, including a 100% thorough tub/shower walls/shower doors scrubbing, with very minimal help from Spouse (he took the doors off and put them back on), I changed the bedding and turned the mattress in my room, cleaned the kitchen, and even did more of the shopping than he did (I had to go to Walmart, but he punked out and waited in the car while I fought the fight, so I bought myself a new nightie as compensation).

I think he was beat from that first week back to work. He was going to mow the yard yesterday, but he...just never did. Finally had two dry and breezy days in a row, lawn was dry enough--and he didn't do it. And it rained last night--probably will rain all week. It will be so long I don't even want to contemplate trying to cut it. (But I bet I'm the one who will end up doing it!)

He did do some cooking this weekend. We went out for Mexican food on Friday, but he grilled Italian sausages and sweet corn for dinner on Saturday, and I made a tossed salad. Then yesterday, he did a burgundy-pepper spoon roast with mashed potatoes and fresh, steamed green beans. I sliced strawberries for dessert, and stirred the gravy--and of course--I washed the dishes. I even wiped and put away the pots and pans, instead of leaving them in the drainer.

Well, tonight was easy enough. Leftover roast beef and a steamer bag of broccoli, and we called it dinner.



Reading: "The Attenbury Emeralds" (2010), a Lord Peter Wimsey from Jill Paton Walsh)

Listening: Franz Ferdinand, Stone Temple Pilots, Ray LaMontagne, Death Cab for Cutie, Primitive Radio Gods, John Butler Trio, Echo & the Bunnymen


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com