rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















friday already?
May 02, 2014

So this week flew by.

I can't believe it's Friday already. My hubby has been employed for a whole week! He hasn't said a ton about it yet, but he seems to be okay with it. He won't be on second shift until about mid-June, so I haven't reclaimed all my freedom, but I'm just so happy to have him working that I will take what I can get.


I'm looking forward to the weekend; work has been kind of stressful this week, and I am starting to worry a bit about my future there. (Because of course, I can't be allowed to draw an easy breath in this world.) Lots of stuff up in the air there, and I have no idea how it is going to land. Nerve-wracking, and it doesn't help that I think my boss is eying retirement rather keenly.

Still, I was able to turn out some quality work to help out one of our east-coast offices this week, and they are always super vocal about their appreciation when I work on something for them. They sent an effusive email to my AVP about me, which I appreciate, because it can't hurt for management to get regular reminders of my awesomeness.
The B is taking Spouse's new schedule in stride; it actually seems to be good for his routine. He has been eating better than he has for a long time, and seems to have fallen right back in to his old morning routine from when we were both on first shift before. Thank goodness--I was kind of worried about how that was going to go, since he's had such an easy time lately. He was getting kind of spoiled. Maybe the fact that he did a few days at the kennel immediately prior was the reason he's doing so well. Things at home don't look nearly as bleak if you just got out of stir!
I am sooo tired today--I have been doing reasonably well lately, the meds seem to be where they need to be, and all. But I know I am still feeling stressed by the way I've been unable to stop abusing the junk food. Sweets, especially. And eating a lot of crap, and NOT eating the stuff that's good for me, is a big part of why I am tired. I have got to get myself back on track somehow.

Babysteps, maybe. I actually had a salad for lunch yesterday! And I am generally trying to up my veggies and fruits intake. Once I get the good intervals to be more frequent, I need to weed out the bad ones-- the "McDonald's shake on the way home, potato chips before bed" ones. Maybe if I tell myself that I can't have anything that's nutritionally bankrupt unless I have something nutritious as well...end result could be that I eat less overall, and get more of what is good for me.

Things I recently tried that I like:
Michael Angelo's� Parmesan Crusted Stuffed Chicken Breasts. Basically chicken parmesan; Spouse bought these at Sam's Club for $11.00 for 6 servings (enough for three meals). Individually packaged, with little individual boiling bags of marinara for each serving. In the oven for a half-hour at 400F, and WOW are these ever good! I was blown away by how tasty they were.

Cambell's Healthy Request Tomato-Basil soup. Low-sodium, very tasty. I usually don't like tomato soup unless it is creamy, but this is excellent right out of the can, heat and eat.

Trader Joe's Tea-Tree Oil Soap. I've probably mentioned this one before, but seriously--it is awesome. My extremely picky skin is just loving it. Way cheaper than Neutrogena, too.
Found out something interesting yesterday--one of my childhood friends has the same disease I do. I have a Hashi's buddy! Most of my auto-immune disease boards pals have Lupus, or Fibro, or RA. None of my IRL hypothyroid buddies have Hashimoto's. Nice to have a feeling I'm not alone with my particular shade of illness. And for it to be Beck is both happy and sad, because Well, I didn't have to make a new friend, but on the other hand, old friend has this crappy disease and that bums me out.
Bleah. I don't even know why I'm yammering on about this that & nothing in particular. I need to spend the afternoon stretched out on Spouse's bed, catching up with Mad Men. I have only managed to see one episode so far, and I have two in the DVR right now, waiting for me. It's a dreary day, Spouse is at work, and the B will be happy to cuddle up and hang with me--think I'll go make a cup of tea and see what lies & deceptions Don Draper's getting up to now.



Reading: "At the Age of Eve" (1911), by Kate Trimble Sharber. Sequel to "The Annals of Ann"; Ann is now a young woman, with her thoughts turning to politics and romance.

Listening: Fitz and the Tantrums, Florence + The Machine, Cage the Elephant, Soundgarden, Lorde


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com