rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















a nice place in Bedfordshire
April 07, 2014

In my never-ending quest to feel less like a piece of crap, I bought a new bed. And you know what? Despite having a nasty head cold, this weekend was three nights and a nap of blissful, restful. refreshing sleep. And waking up able to move freely, instead of hobbling around with aching hips. I feel like a new woman.

I didn't stop there, though--I also picked up a bottle of B-Complex vitamins; sublingual liquid, since everything I've read says that's the more effective way to take them--especially B12, which is hard to absorb in the gut. So I put a dropperful under my tongue a couple of times a day, and hold it there for 30 seconds to a minute before swallowing. Kind of reminds me of the Poly-Vi-Sol my mom gave us when we were little. Way too early to tell if they are doing anything, but at least I'm actively trying to feel better. If I can just get enough energy to start exercising, I know I would feel even better.

Since I am firmly opposed to quackery, energy drinks and other stimulants (except for coffee and tea), I won't do anything too outlandish--but my doctor suggested the B complex when I asked him for ideas on what to do. So I'll give it a try.

We actually got quite a lot done this weekend, even with both of us suffering from this damned cold. On Friday, we ran some errands, got the oil changed in the Ford, then went home took down the bed so I could get busy and finish cleaning in my room. And since we had all that room to maneuver, I got Spouse to put up my new curtains and rods. I wasn't going to do it until I got the room painted, but we were on a roll. Plus, I chucked out my ancient and disreputable bedspread & the matching curtains(they came with the house and the bed 20 years ago, and were several years old then!), so I wanted the new ones I bought last year to go up.

Once the bed was delivered, It only took us a few minutes to set it all up. Spouse couldn't put the headboard on it; he needs to attach a board as an adaptor so it will go together securely. But otherwise, it went very smoothly. I popped on one of my new bargain sheet sets, made it all up with my new bedspread, and it looks great. I need to get the paint and some art onto the walls, and a new throw rug, but it is really coming together.

On Saturday we treated ourselves to breakfast out--we went to Emily's in Beach Park. I had a lovely veggie frittata with whole wheat toast, and Spouse had his usual ham and eggs with Greek toast. Then we hit Wally's for dog food, and a new toaster of our very own. The Kenmore was coming up on 10 years old, and just about shot. So I picked out a nice Oster with a brushed stainless finish, and the long & narrow configuration that works in my counter space. Ten years ago, I was complaining because I couldn't find a $40 toaster; they were all cheap $10 crap or over-the-top, $80 machines. Well, these days, there seems a lot more on offer in the $40 range, and it isn't just the junk that used to be $10.

I also picked up a pair of plain pillowcases to use as shams with my new quilt, and came up with an almost perfect match to the new curtains.

After Walmart, we stopped at Radio Shack for a part he needed to do an electronics repair, and popped into the grocery store for a few items, then headed home. With this cold, I was not up to any sustained shopping, so we just did a few quick hits at a time.

Once we got home, I puttered the afternoon away reading, baking a pan of brownies, reading, doing laundry, and taking a nice nap. Spouse tinkered around with a couple of projects and then took a nap, as well. We had a simple dinner; Spouse grilled burgers, and we had deli potato salad and coleslaw to go with.

Yesterday was more of the same. Slept late-ish, had a simple cereal & toast breakfast, Spouse talked to my mom and his brother on the phone. After we got dressed, we ran to the hardware store because it turned out he needed a tool to do his repair, where we bumped into an old friend and had a nice chat. Filled up the car, got a few more things at the grocery store, then back home. I finished the laundry and two library e-books, Spouse made a roast with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans for dinner, and we had strawberry shortcake for dessert. YUM.

And then a quiet evening and off to bed. Sweet, wonderful, awesome bed. Ridiculous snot-factory cold aside, it was really quite a nice weekend.



Reading: "The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie"(2011), by Wendy McClure. Finally getting around to this one, and pretty happy about it!
"My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business: A Memoir" (2011), by Dick Van Dyke.
"The Year of Delight" (1921), By Margaret Widdemer.

Listening: Stuck in the 90s lately--musically, anyway. Train, Incubus, Deep Blue Something, Matchbox Twenty, Collective Soul, Foo Fighters, Weezer, Eagle-Eye Cherry.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com