rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the load
March 31, 2014, 8:27 P.M.

My sister-in-law (middle brother's wife) just found out she has uterine cancer. Apparently, it is early stage and very curable. I hope so.


Spouse has a heavy cold, like every other time he ever has to fly. This makes him needy, whiny, stupid, and generally unpleasant. The up side was that he didn't want to spend a lot of time running around town this weekend. I am still feeling extremely tired, so I was grateful for that. Even though I ended up working around the house the whole weekend, instead of taking it easy. He did cook, though. Yesterday morning he made french toast using cinnamon bread, along with some sausages. And for Sunday dinner, he baked a little ham and a couple of sweet potatoes, and I made glazed carrots and strawberry shortcake for dessert.
B managed to get his paws screwed up with what seems to be the canine equivalent of trench foot. A 15-minute vet visit and a c-note later... more pills. And foot powder, of all things. If that dog gets to be any more high-maintenance, I'm going to have to hire a care-giver for him.
My brothers and their wives went to Mom & Dad's over the weekend to help them do some clutter removal. Sounds as if they are having a fine old rummage through my parents' stuff, and I wish them joy of it. Also sounds like they are making progress, judging by the powerful waves of hoarder anxiety my mom was emitting when I called to wish her a happy 77th birthday this morning. She was in a furious panic about how much stuff was finding its way out of that house.

Annnnd...She managed another face-plant when they were there; I wonder if it wasn't a move, conscious or unconsious, to get them to stop what they were doing. Her falls usually seem to coincide with stuff she doesn't want to deal with. (I sound like I am being an unsympathetic beotch. Just trying to be realistic.) She damn near knocked her eye out of her head, and ended up going to the emergency room twice for it.

For her birthday, I mailed her card last week, and I sent her a florist's choice arrangement from the fancy florist down there to be delivered today; I hope it's okay. I'm sure it will be, actually--this place is very good, and leaving it to the florist's discretion means she will get something original, instead of the cookie-cutter, wire-service stuff. My oldest brother (his wife, actually) beat me to the punch and his (her) flowers arrived on Friday, but I had already set mine up, so was too late too late to second-guess.
I spent several hours cleaning out my bedroom yesterday; I went to Sleap Cheap and ordered a new bed on Saturday, so I need to be ready to receive it when it is delivered on Friday. I got rid of two more big garbage bags of old junk, swept, dusted, etc. I did as much as I can for now, but I will be able to take another crack at it on Friday when I get home. The mattress place delivers after 7:00pm, due to staffing, so Spouse is dismantling the old bed while I'm gone in the morning; when I get home, we will haul it outside and then I will have room in there to really get something accomplished--move dressers, wash the floor and finish the job.

I really can't afford a new bed, but at this point I can't go on "sleeping" in that worn-out wreck, either. So I bit the bullet, picked one out, put half on deposit, and when it is delivered I'll pay the balance. It isn't a terribly expensive bed, but still--sigh.
Since I got my tablet, I have been using the library e-book checkouts to actually read some stuff that wasn't written 90+ years ago. I am working on reading more current stuff. I am, however, gravitating towards memoirs that tell me about stuff that happened years ago, and new books in old, familiar series. Still trying to escape the present, I guess.



Reading: "The Days of Anna Madrigal" (2014), the ninth volume in Armistead Maupin's "Tales of the City" series.

Listening: Edie Brickell & New Bohemians, Chuck Berry, Arctic Monkeys, The Black Keys. At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com