rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















TJs and Bonefish
March 18, 2014

Friday when I got home from work, I took my crazy, frisky B out for a walk, and then Spouse and I did the grocery shopping and errands. Came home and once everything was put away, I crashed till dinner time.

Saturday morning, we got up early, and Spouse ran to pick up some donuts. After breakfast, I got busy with the housework and laundry while he...was his own lazy self, stretched out in his bed. Stripped the bedding on my bed and made it up fresh (I did his Thursday after work, fortunately), picked up my room, did multiple loads of wash, cleaned the kitchen, etc.

I also scrubbed the tub and shower, and he was supposed to take care of the rest of the bathroom, but...y'know, that whole "stretched out in bed thing".

Went down to Trader Joe's in Northbrook on Saturday afternoon. Lots of treats and goodies, plus a stock-up on favorites like the French green beans and Basmati rice. Tried their new coffee pods (weak and not up to my expectations of TJ's coffee). And my Gingerfest continues--I picked up Ginger-Pear White Tea, Ginger Thins cookies, and of course, my favorite, wonderful, glorious TJ's Gingermints.

And--I'm trying a new soap. I love the classic Neutrogena glycerin bar for my shower soap, but since I was at TJs, I decided to try their Tea Tree Oil Bars. Only used it once so far, but it lathers well, rinses clean, doesn't feel overly drying, and doesn't make me itch. Very lightly scented, too. Price is right, two large bars for $3. I'm pretty sure I'm going to like it. (Which kind of sucks, because I don't have any way to maintain a steady supply.)

After shopping, we rolled down to Skokie for an early dinner at Bonefish Grill, since I had a gift certificate to use up. I hadn't had lunch, so for once, I didn't mind having dinner at 4:00. We had a lovely time, with great cocktails, great food, and a very nice waiter. I had a fresh raspberry martini, French bread with garlic-herb olive oil for dipping, Wagyu Beef & Ginger Dumplings for an appetizer, woodfire-grilled scallops and shrimp with jasmine rice and chick peas, and a Cr�me Br�l�e to finish. Spouse had a complicated Mojito with black cherries in it, the bread and the dumplings, and a sirloin steak with garlic mashed potatoes, plus key lime pie to finish.

And as soon as I left the restaurant, I had a sudden, severe bloody nose. No idea why; glad I had tissues in the car. It was really gushy, but fortunately it didn't last too long. We stopped at Wal-Mart in Niles on the way home, to pick up a few household necessities, then headed for the barn.


Sunday I awoke to Spouse making me sausage and blackberry pancakes. After breakfast, I did the dishes, put a marble cake in the oven, did the last load of wash, tidied up the dining room and living room, and once my cake was out, Spouse and I threw on some warm clothes and went out back to start the long, hard battle with the dog turds. We managed to chip out, rake, and bag up three grocery sacks full--pretty much all we can get to until more snow melts.

After we came in and washed up, Spouse set up dinner in the slow-cooker (Corned beef with potatoes and carrots), and I emptied wastebaskets, took out the trash, and finished up the load of wash. Once he was done in the kitchen, the cake had cooled and I made a batch of whipped chocolate buttercream to frost it. The frosting was a new recipe, using melted bittersweet chocolate, and I have to admit it is delicious--but it hardened up to the point where it was shattering when I cut the cake for dessert. I think I'll pre-heat my knife tonight!

Then we chilled for a while; he took a nap and I doodled around on the laptop and the tablet. We had a sandwich about 1:30, and then we "went to the library" together--he on his Kindle/laptop, me on my tablet's Kindle app. After we found our books, we went in the kitchen and put together a party tray of corned beef and Irish cheese for St. P's day at the office.

Dinner at 5:00, dessert about 6:30, and I was in the bathroom with a very unexpected emergency by 7:15. Too much rich food this weekend, I guess. Took an Immodium before bed, just to be on the safe side. That was the weekend.
I probably should put a mention in this entry of the birthday party my family threw for my mom on Sunday. Lots of family there, including aunts and uncles. Quite the event.

Don't get me wrong--I wasn't there. Nobody bothered to invite me, or mention it to me, or anything. But from the pictures on Fb, it looked like a nice party.



Reading: "Gielgoodies!: The Wit and Wisdom of John Gielgud" (2012), by Jonathan Croall. "The Mystery of Arnold Hall" (1934), by Helen M. Persons


Listening: The National, Morrisey, Traffic, Vampire Weekend At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com