rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Thursday shorties 03-13-14
March 13, 2014

Sorted out the clusterf*** of medical bills and EOBs from Spouse's health crisis, so we can finally get some stuff paid off. To my surprise, of the charges Spouse finaly shook down the medical center for, everything was pretty clean. Only one was screwed up, and that was the insurance company, not the hospital. I called customer service and hopefully they will get it resolved. They managed to get a bill for labs, right smack in the middle of dozens of identical bills, and deny it for timely filing (a mere 31 days after it was incurred) and being out-of-network...which it A--wasn't, and B--IS NOT A REASON FOR DENIAL ON MY PLAN. Reduced benefit, yes. Denial, no.


DST is kicking my but this week. I can't go to sleep early, but my frackin' brain can sure keep jumping awake early every morning, screaming DONT OVERSLEEP! DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME!!!!!! I am exhausted. In the best circumstances, I get by on the absolute minimum I can for a week-night's sleep; 6 and a half hours. Even then I have to make it up on the weekends with naps and sleeping in. ANYthing that eats into that 6 and a half hours, by even a few minutes, can throw me off completely. I'm a friggin' zombie. Stupid pointless bullpuckey.
Got my regular, annual, everybody-type bonus this week. About what I expected it to be, ravaged by taxes, but the cash infusion is still welcome.
I finally got fed up and went in for a cut and wax yesterday; when my hair gets long enough to be floppy and I find myself pulling out my eyebrows, I know the time has come.
Today, as I was sitting at my desk, feeling foggy-brained, exhausted, scratching at my dry skin with my broken nails, wracked with aches and pains, freezing cold, and wretchedly sensitive to the bright lights, noisy office, ready to dive out the window to escape my irritating co-workers, it occurred to me...

...that I may, just possibly, be low in the thyroid department again. I wish my doctor believed in Cytomel therapy, instead of just plain old levothyroxine. I don't feel like the T4 alone is working very well. But they are all so afraid of thyrotoxicity that they would rather have you deficient and miserable than up your T3 and risk bumping you over to the hyper side.
Had a brief freak-out earlier this week when my tab wouldn't turn on for me, but fortunately it calmed down after about 45 minutes and has been behaving ever since. My nice pink cover arrived on Tuesday, and I just love it. Protective, pretty, built-in easel, and a hand strap that makes it much easier to hold the tablet while reading. Pretty nice for $16.00.
Tis the season--for falling ice and snow. I took a large chunk of frozen crap right in the windshield the other day, courtest of the FedEx truck that rumbled past me on a curve. No damage, except the shock took about a year off my life.
I seem to have developed a bit of an obsession with the taste of ginger lately. Ever since I made that batch of ginger-infused honey, I can't get enough. I stopped the other day and got some crystallized ginger at Penzey's, but it was expensive and a bit TOO tender and mild for me. So today on my way home, I stopped at Festival & got some bigger chunks from their bulk organics section, and THAT's more like it. This stuff has some heat and bite! And at about half the price per pound that Penzey's charges. Don't get me wrong, I still think P's is great--but in this case, I think they're a little too fine and fancy for my taste. I like my ginger rough, baby. This stuff is like the ginger version of Atomic Fireballs, though. Gotta be careful not to overdo it. It's the shit when chopped up and infused in a cup of Lipton's though.


Reading: Hit "Recede"

Listening: Tool, Alice in Chains, Stone Temple Pilots, RCHP, A Perfect Circle, Cowboy Junkies.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com