rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















congratulations--it's a schnitzel
March 03, 2014, 8:36 P.M.

Spouse decided to get creative with the two pork loin chops he made for dinner last night. He sliced them thinner, pounded them out, breaded them, seasoned them with lemon, and sauteed them in olive oil before finishing them in the oven. He thought he was being completely original, but at the first bite, I had to break it to him: he'd cooked up some absolutely fabulous...schweineschnitzel.

It was awesome, though. And I do loves me some schnitzel.

And the honey-glazed chicken legs he did on Saturday were pretty awesome, too. Both of those are keepers.


My moods have been better this past week, for the most part. I am still too sleepy, and I had a rough day on Thursday, but all in all, things have shown some improvement.� I just wish I wasn't crazy sometimes.
Talked to the 'rents yesterday...that was exhausting. Just getting them through the online RSVP process for my oldest nephew's wedding, and explaining the hotel situation and geography of all the pertinent� locations (hotel, reception, church) was exhausting. Now he wants me to teach him how to save pictures and print them. That'll be...interesting. And I haven't even begun to get through to him about how his OS is about to become obsolete and unsupported--that's a nightmare beyond description. (F'ing Microsoft.)
The job hunting continues. Spouse has had a good stream of interviews, but so far he's only had one tentative offer (pending background check, whiz quiz, etc.) He had the interview on Friday near my office, and if he gets that one we would at least have compatible hours and could ride-share instead of having to run two vehicles with gas, tolls, etc. Well, compatible for four days out of five, anyway. My Friday half-days would still be an issue.

The taxes are done--we signed the returns on Friday & our tax lady e-filed them.� Getting more of a refund than I like to see (I'd rather not loan the government anymore than I have to), and it will probably all have to go to pay his medical bills from last year, anyway. Things are getting quite alarmingly tight. We are a way closer to the bone than we have been in a long time, and it is starting to freak me out--meds or no meds. I honestly don't know what we are going to do if he doesn't get hired on somewhere, like yesterday.

Aside from meeting the bills and such, I am getting a wee bit fatigued by the feeling that I have never done anything wrong, but I am being punished. Putting aside the fact that I can't have any luxuries to speak of...I can't even afford my basic health care. Or to have my washer fixed. Or a frigging haircut. Or a sandwich.� Or a piece of bubblegum.
Then there is this wretched, brutal, seemingly endless winter that is rapidly turning me into a withered, lifeless husk. That's not helping.
I just re-read what I've written, and it's kind of a disorganized mess. But at least it's there. It's getting harder and harder to post--because I just don't want to re-hash any moments of my life. They were grim and dull and painful enough the first time.
SO. How about some current events?

The Oscars were on last night. I had no interest in watching. I don't watch movies anymore.� And as far as the actors go, I don't know half of them and dislike the other half. I think Patton Oswalt said it best when he tweeted: "Best Actor Oscar came down to Matthew (FAILURE TO LAUNCH) McConaughey and Bruce (DOWN PERISCOPE) Dern. Makes you think, hm?"

Russia seems to be trying to rebuild the USSR by invading Ukraine.

Paralympian Oscar "Blade Runner" Pistorius pled not guilty to murdering his girlfriend, model Reeva Steenkamp, on Valentine's Day last year.

Reading: Still reading "The Girls of the Silver Spur Ranch"--I have to confess that I haven't been reading my books much this past week. Just haven't felt like it.� But I'm trying to do better. Starting "The Liberty Girl" (1919), by Rena I. Halsey once I finish with it. Publisher's description:� Nathalie Page, seventeen, bright and popular with all her mates, forms a club called the �Liberty Girls� and enthusiastically does her bit to help win the war. A surprising invitation to the White Mountains takes her from organized activity with her companions, but a girl like Nathalie will not be idle wherever she goes, and in carrying out the principles of patriotic service she wins great and deserved credit.

Listening: The Civil Wars, CCR, John Lennon


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com