rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















afterlife?
February 17, 2014

My life turned to shit in 2006 and I have never been able to understand why.

One theory I like to entertain in my more fanciful moods is that I died in a plane crash in February 2006, on the way home from attending a friend's Valentine's Day wedding in Las Vegas.

And I went to hell, where I have been ever since.

When I got back from that trip, but while I was still on vacation, I got the fateful phone call from my AVP telling me that there had been a big shake-up at work and that I no longer had the same position, department, or boss I'd had when I'd left the week before. In effect, the job that I loved, in which I excelled (despite its difficulties & frustrations) had been taken away from me, and I had been reassigned to a notoriously difficult boss, in a position that had yet to be defined.

Oh, but the "good news was, I still had a job".

Shortly thereafter, we rolled into a period of financial setbacks, serial job changes for Spouse, increased stress, family problems, health problems both mental and physical, family deaths, pet deaths, and assorted other hellish experiences that persists to this day, and with no end in sight..

And I am so tired. I just don't know how I can keep going...


Well, here is the reason for the chest-beating: he's jobless again. And I can't even be mad at him, because of the circumstances. His boss never returned to the office with the payroll checks on Thursday, so Spouse drove out there on Friday morning to get his paycheck...only to find the sheriff's department in possession. The only answer to his queries was to be handed a copy of the asset siezure warrant, signed by a federal judge. The employees were told they could retrieve small personal items, but but they couldn't remove anything else. Spouse didn't happen to have anything he needed to get except his check--which they told him he needed to try and get from the governement. Sure. Hire a thousand-dollar lawyer to claim a seven-hundred-dollar check. So he's not only out of a job, but he worked the last two weeks for nothing.

(But he's better off than the machinists. They are out of a job, out of a paycheck, AND have to initiate the long, and expensive process to try and get their own tools back from the government. Tools they have to have in order to get another job!)

For me, Valentine's day has never been what you'd call a major holiday, since the Spouse doesn't really feel it is a worthwhile thing to celebrate. But really? This one is in the bottom 3.
Maybe I�m just in a shite mood because we had another friggin� heavy-ass snow today, and it took me 2 hours to get home through utter shit conditions. I am so fed to the teeth with this winter shit I want to curl up and weep.

Reading: I put aside "Winona of Camp Karonya" (1917), by Margaret Widdemer, for now. Reading �He Fell in Love with His Wife� (1886), by Edgar Payson Roe. It is a bit earlier than my typical period, but it reads more contemporary than its time.

Listening: Gin Blossoms, Neko Case, Gary Jules, Jane�s Addiction


At Random:

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com