rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















done list
December 15, 2013

Bathroom scrubbed
Throw rugs washed (3 loads)
Beds stripped, made up fresh, & bedding done up (3 loads)
Kitchen floor hand-scrubbed
Kitchen cabinets wiped down
Kitchen sink bleached and scoured
Regular laundry all done up and put away (6 loads)
Weekly shopping done and put away
Baked a pan of brownies
Boozed the fruitcakes
Mending done (2 pr. pants)
Christmas cards done
Toys for Tots donation made (2 Big Wheels)
Weekly Shalom Center donation made (bag of groceries)
White elephant gift wrapped for work party

Not a bad couple of days' work for somebody who already has a job, isn't in the greatest shape, had to cancel her chiro this week, and is suffering through an absurdly bad menstrual period. Especially when you realize that each of those 12 loads of laundry represents multiple trips up and down the basement stairs.


I have decided that since we didn't do the big shop for Thanksgiving this year, we will be making weekly donations of regular, non-perishable groceries this winter. And the Festival has had canned vegetables, canned soups, saltines, and canned tuna at fantastic prices for the last few weeks, so we have actually been donating the limit on those items every time we go to the store. Why not, when it's only $5.86 for 4 cans of vegetables, 4 cans of soup, 2 boxes of saltines, and 4 cans of tuna?! I may be poor, but I'll skip a meal or two and donate that. Won't hurt me--I can afford to miss the occasional meal.
Kind of down, today, since I couldn't go to Iowa and be with my family. Spouse started making jokes about my relatives first thing this morning, and got cut off pretty abruptly. Fucked up as they are, I'm not having any today. It is my mom's last family Christmas, and I got screwed out of being there, and no matter how unfair and evil and awful it all is, I am nontheless heartbroken about it. So he got the STFU treatment.
I have to admit that I've had some small luck lately--$50 restaurant giftcard as a thank you from the leaders of the project I just wrapped up, an unexpected mix-up from Sam's club benefitting me to the tune of an extra $25 on my giftcard, and winning a holiday raffle at work ($25 Target giftcard). So at least I'm not an entirely hopeless case!!

The Target card came in handy for replacing my sadly defunct electric blanket. Between the sale ad and the gift card, I was able to get a $60 Biddeford Microplush with automatic shut-off for $22.99 out of pocket, and boy, is it ever heavenly! I cannot survive winter without an electric blanket. Not with him locking it at 64 degrees in here. I know we are poor, but damn...



Reading: �A Budget of Christmas Tales� (1895), by Charles Dickens and Others

Listening: Assorted Christmas music.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com