rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















self-care
November 25, 2013,

Things I did today that were good for me:
Went for a brisk, 1-mile walk during my lunch hour--despite cold, wind, and snow. It was the company's annual "turkey trot", so I trotted along. I was the last one back, but it isn't a race. Just a fun walk. And I made it back, so shit, I don't really care that it took me a half-hour when other people did it in 20 minutes.

Wrote two diary entries. One to work out all the bad, and one to take in all the good.

Cut back my portion at lunch (leftover penne & meatballs)

Lots of deep breathing.

Got up and moved more at work.

Put in my earplugs and drowned out the buttheads with good tunes, instead of sitting there letting them make me crazy.

Upped my water intake.


Other things that I have done for myself lately: Remember that silver chain I needed that I asked Spouse for last Christmas? 22 inches, closed-link? And he bought me one that was 24 inches and open-link?

Well, the "silver" lining to our morning at the hospital on Friday was that they were having a jewelry and accessories sale in the lobby. And I found a gorgeous sterling silver snake chain for a mere $26.00. Silky-smooth, 22-inch length, and with a small clasp that will go through all my silver pendants easily. So I damn well didn't think twice about it--I bought the darned thing!

I did think twice about a couple of other items I'd seen, though--I wish I could've afforded the inlaid opal and silver ring, and the gorgeous hot pink laptop tote. Hey, baby steps. I can't believe my good sense won out as far as the chain! I wore it today, along with the blue-green opal pendant Auntie bought me. I'm so glad I can finally wear it.
more on the up-side:
Got a message from my sister-in-law today that my nephew and his fiancee are moving their wedding up from September to February, because he wants his grandma there. That has to be no small feat, even with a simple wedding like they have been planning. But they are just so grounded in what is really important in life, it blows me away. Great kids. Just the best.
So there. I feel better, somehow, for following up the last post with this one.



Reading: Madame Storey (1922), by William Hulbert Footner. "Outside Inn" (1920), by Ethel M. Kelley

Listening: The Script, Passenger, OneRepublic, A Fine Frenzy, Imagine Dragons, Alien Ant Farm, Of Monsters and Men, The Offspring.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com