rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















so. work.
October 22, 2013

I said I'd go into it in another entry, so here goes.

PPACA has wreckticated my employer-based coverage. Oh, the "good" news is that co-pays now go toward out-of-pocket totals. But my employer nearly DOUBLED the amount of my out-of-pocket totals...for my employee+spouse coverage, that means the cap is now $15,000. It's gonna take a hell of a lot of $25 co-pays to hit THAT.

They didn't raise the deductible this year, but they already did that previously. And premium, of course, has been jacked again. I knew that was coming when the "incentive" program allowed us to earn up to $600 in discounts.

But I am one of the "lucky" ones, I guess. A lot of people who participated in that program didn't pay much attention to the rules, and had no idea that if they didn't do enough activities to get at least $400...they don't get anything at all.

Yeah, on second thought? I'm not lucky. I'm just not lazy and stupid.


That's the benefit related-half of the one-two punch I got yesterday. The work related half is even more fun. Let's see. Winter's almost here, there are holidays coming up, whyme is short on funds...

Let's throw another round of mandatory travel at her.

And since my company's unofficial slogan is "If it's a shithole, we have an office there", you know it's going to be another garden spot of the USA. (Here's a hint: it's the buckle on the rust belt.)

They haven't decided yet whether or not they will be interfering with my right to vote again, ruining another Thanksgiving, or going for one they haven't hit yet and taking out Christmas. But you can be sure they will be planting a big dirty bootprint in my face.





Reading: Since I'm already juggling the end of "Emily Climbs" and the middle of "Mary Cary", I did the sensible thing. I started a re-read of "The Rose-Garden Husband".

Listening: Potpourri for a thousand, Alex: Screaming Trees, Liza Minelli, Don McLean, Steely Dan, and Steve Goodman.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com