rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















stream of bitchousness
October 16, 2013

Work has been the typically hectic, insane, impossible, wall-to-wall mess that it always is when one returns from vacation, and I have to admit that I'm about whipped. And in addition to the over-the-top, long-distance workload from multiple field offices, I had to carve out swathes of time for meetings with OTHER out-of-towners, who came in for a management conference.

And for a tense, fingernail-biting meeting about what is next for our department--which...OK. I put it to you:

Why call a sudden meeting and drag everyone into the nearest unused conference room, practically giving them heart failure, just to tell them you don't know what is coming next? Here's a damned management tip: that is what you do if somebody is getting fired. If you do it in any other instance--people are going to think somebody is getting fired, & FREAK. And if you freak out your people unnecessarily, you are not a good manager.


So he's working now, and I had a lovely peaceful evening last night. Came home, zipped around and got all the household chores done, and relaxed in my nightie until I got in bed at nine. Quiet, simple (bowl of cereal for dinner) and restorative. To be honest, I was too pooped to do much other than surf a little and play some games. Climbed into bed with my warm little sidekick, read for half an hour, and then zonked out.

Only to have one of those endless stress dreams about work. Specifically, it was getting later and later and I could not get to work. Couldn't get up on time, couldn't get finished getting ready, couldn't get out of the house, couldn't find my car, walking and walking and never making any progress...

Yeah, my subconscious is not exactly subtle with its metaphors.

From there, every possible aspect of the day proceeded to be ridiculously difficult, landing somewhere on the scale between �death of a thousand paper cuts� and �actually life-threatening�. Crazy drivers & traffic snarls, ATMs, gas pumps, people, objects, my job�everything was an enemy today. I ended up starting early, taking an abbreviated lunch break, and staying late. Then I had to deal with the actual rush hour, plus stop at the bank, get gas, and hit every traffic light in eastern Kenosha County. Bleagh.

I hope tonight is more restful. Maybe I'll wrap this up, fire up the DVR and watch Rock & Jane in "Magnificent Obsession". Nothing like a lush and glossy, Douglas Sirk/Ross Hunter melodrama to help one relax.





Reading: Mary Cary (1910), by Kate Langley Bosher. If I can ever get around to cracking it open, anyway. (I read it once before, but can't remember much about it. Except I liked it.) Link

Listening: Standards: Doris Day, Judy Garland, Eartha Kitt, Bobby Vinton, Roy Orbison, and Robert Goulet.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com