rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















minimal labor day
September 02, 2013

This is not going to go down in history as the most productive weekend I've ever had. But that said�it hasn't been a bad one. My mom got out of the hospital on Friday evening and felt well enough yesterday to attend a family get together with my dad's brothers. I had a really good therapy session and worked out some mom-related issues on Friday (the hoarding figured heavily).

Spouse and I have been sputtering and pottering quietly about all weekend, just having nice relaxing bit of time off. We have gotten a few things done; our house is reasonably clean, I have spent a lot of time in the swimming pool, we've made some interesting meals, the laundry is caught up and I changed out the bedding, the shopping is done, and at the time of this writing, Spouse has the dog at the groomer's getting him fluffed and folded (so to speak).
ETA: Forgot to mention that Spouse made a batch of homemade root beer yesterday! From the kit I got for Christmas. Very much looking forward to trying it.

And we have been doing some checking, and have pretty much decided to get rid of Time-Warner for tv and internet. Looks like we will be going with AT&T. Just got fed up with all the reception issues, internet outages, and antiquated equipment. Not to mention the fact that they are several months into denying us several channels, including Showtime, due to ongoing negotiations with the owners, and yet�there it is on my bill every month. I have no illusions that ATT is going to be wonderfully better, but at least they are cheaper, even after the introductory rate expires. The downside is that we will have to give up (the superior) half of our local channels, because of whatever stupid rule/law says Kenosha defaults to Milwaukee instead of Chicago. What little TV I do watch is not greatly impacted, except for not getting Channel 9 (WGN). And believe me, WGN America is NOT a valid replacement. But all in all, I think the prices and the extra features are a good strong reason to switch.
ETA: Annnnddd...after I posted this, we went to the ATT store and set it up. A few hours later, Time-Warner settled with CBS.

Today's plans also include getting some yard work done and a couple of small things repaired around the house, and getting in yet another swim. I personally would like to get Spouse out to Casual Male and get him some clothes that actually fit him, but I have a feeling that's just not going to be something I can make happen. He hates to shop for clothes, he hates the outlet mall where the store is located, and he hates to spend money on such things. So I have to face the prospect of continuing to see him walking around in clothes that haven't fit him in months. It is quite sad really: he has lost 50 pounds at least, and yet still refuses to accept the fact that his belt is a foot and a half too long, his pants are falling off, and his t-shirts look like nightgowns. SO stubborn! (Full disclosure: I am exactly the same way.)

ETA: Well, he wouldn't go clothes shopping. No big surprise. We ran some errands, came home, and he got his marinade going for Tacos el Pastor while I switched out my workouts--instead of swimming/water aerobics, I mowed, trimmed, and cleaned up the front and side yards.(We will do the backyard together, tomorrow after work.) Then I took a swim to cool of and relax. The tacos were brilliant, BTW. DAMN, is he a good cook!



Reading: The Pines of Lory (1901), by John Ames Mitchell. Link

This is shaping up to be mildly interesting, but its rather bluntly anti-Catholic beginning took me aback. I'm not offended by it at all, but just found it surprising.

Listening: I broke my long-standing rule about never watching Russell Crowe moves, and watched the Les Miserables movie on HBO the other night.

So naturally, I have been listening to the 10th Anniversary Concert (Dream Cast) ever since, trying to get the bad taste of it out of my brain.



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com