rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















a Taurus TLC weekend
August 25, 2013

Spouse and I had a rather decent weekend; we did laundry & housework, had an al fesco breakfast at Panera, and ran some errands on Saturday morning. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our Mexican market is back in business, operating as a Piggly Wiggly Fresh Market. That means it's a Pig, but with a huge produce section and butcher case. Very welcome sight to see, and I was able to score real taco meat, Korean-cut short ribs, and a bag of juice oranges.

All of us spent Saturday afternoon completely lazed out, just reading and napping. Apparently we needed that. We had barbecue ribs, baked potatoes, and a tossed salad for dinner. Tried to call Mom and Auntie, but got no answer at either number. Went to bed early.

Sunday morning, we got up early and I squeezed fresh juice, made sausage, scrambled eggs, and toast for breakfast. We knew the heat was coming, so we threw on some old clothes and got outside early to work on some projects we had planned--it was "car servicing weekend", and we had already washed it, filled it up, and got a basic oil change. So on Sunday, I gave the interior a good cleaning while Spouse polished my headlights, checked all fluids, filled the washers, checked the tires, and changed the cabin air filter. The old Ford is pretty sweet! The grass didn't really need a cut, and with the predicted heatwave, we didn't want to stress it out. So we just trimmed the edges out front and let the rest slide.

The heat and exertion on top of a hot breakfast kind of did me in a bit--I ended up with a hot flash and some gastro-intestinal issues from it. It was a while before I was finally able to cool down and calm down enough to get myself cleaned up and dressed. We shut the house up and turned the air on, then ran out for a while to get the pool water tested and pick up Spouse's latest warfarin prescription. Then we came home to relax and chill out some more. Dog days of summer, I guess. Tried to call Mom and Auntie again; still no answer at either number. Around 4:30, after the sun went down a bit, I went out and had a really good, "vigorous-without-doing myself-damage" swimming pool workout, followed by a very relaxing float. Lovely.

For last night's dinner, Spouse made chicken picatta at my request, and he tweaked the recipe to be a bit healthier. I made some lovely fresh haricots verts, steamed and tossed with a tiny bit of butter, and Spouse made a batch of absolutely perfect basmati rice in the rice cooker. Brilliant dinner. (And I fixed myself a pack lunch of the same for work proday, so I got to enjoy it twice.) AB-FAB. I am so grateful that he learned to cook!

Being Sunday evening, we just took it lightly after dinner. I went out and played ball with B, and we spent a few minute puttering around to get stuff ready for Monday morning. Then it was Kindle for him, computer word games for me, write a post that I'm too lazy to actually post, and now...a reasonable bedtime. Just a lovely summer weekend.





Reading: "The Campfire Girls on a Yacht" (1920), By "Margaret Love Sanderson" Who was really Emma Speed Sampson. Who took the series over from the original "Margaret Love Sanderson". Who was really L. Frank Baum. Keeping track of early 20th century series authors is hard. Link

Listening: The Fixx, The Cure, The Smiths, Boomtown Rats, Paloma Faith.



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com