rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















gutpunch
August 26, 2013

gutpunch Was feeling pretty good this morning, aside from a little stiffness and pain in the injury area (a result of overdoing it a tad in the pool yesterday). Fairly well rested, chuffed from a good scale number, and generally about as ready to face the week as I could hope to be.

Only to find out that a friend and co-worker died over the weekend. I am not sure what happened, but it sounds like a seizure or aneurism/vegatative state/advance directive thing. Apparently the reason she was out last week was that she had a seizure, and was in ICU--but no one mentioned a word to me about it, so I didn't even know she was sick. And since I had been out with my own issues the week before, I hadn't even gotten to see her lately.

I'm just stunned. She was one of the smartest, sweetest, nicest people I've ever had the pleasure to work with, and I always looked forward to a project if she was the assigned programmer. Her husband is also a former co-worker, and my heart is just aching for him right now, because he is every bit as sweet as she was and it is such a horrible thing.

She was only a year older than me. Damn.





Reading: "The Campfire Girls on a Yacht" (1920), By Margaret Love Sanderson (Emma Speed Sampson). Link

Listening: Tracy Chapman, Leon Redbone, Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, Paul Simon--both solo and with Art.



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com