rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















tuesday muse day
August 27, 2013

As somebody who has spent more time depressed than otherwise--and as someone whose non-depressed experiences have been, for at least the last quarter-century or so, hyperthyroid and manic...I don't know what the blue blazes "normal" is supposed to be. Seriously--I don't have a clue. How do I know if I feel better, if I don't feel fantastic and super-energized and marvelous? If normal is the spot exactly mid-way between awful and marvelous, does normal mean I don't feel anything at all?

That said, I suppose I do feel better. Not great, but better: Still feel tired, still wish I had a different life, still feel overwhelmed most of the time...but handling it better. Able to cope. Squeaking by. I am impatient, I guess. I have made progress, I know that, and I just have to be satisfied that I am moving forward.

A big problem for me is that taking care of myself--eating right, making sure I drink my water, exercising, paying attention to how I feel and doing things to fix it if I feel bad--is boring. It is a tedious, annoying bore and I hate to do it, so I end up NOT doing it, and digging myself into a hole. Seriously. I cannot stand having to pay attention to all that stuff. no matter how important it is to my well-being, it isn't important to ME...if that makes any sense.


OTHER STUFF

It's very hot. Muggy and mid-90s. HATE, but good pool weather at least. Getting my swims in, although I am trying to be careful not to injure myself again. We finally got the Ph up in the pool, and the water is like satin. My hair and skin are grateful, I must say.

Of course that means Spouse will flag a little bit--he doesn't handle heat well, and has a tendency to let that get him down. When I came in after my swim yesterday, I jumped on dinner & dishes so he could just relax. I was feeling kind of pooped myself, after the huge bad news about my friend (J Smith), and a long day. I found myself dozing off at Text Twist 2 around 9, and headed for bed. Astonishingly, I didn't wake up all night! When I opened my eyes and looked at the alarm this morning, it was 4:29! I later realized that I hadn't had a single thing to drink since about 3:00 in the afternoon, and that explained a lot! (I am so bad about fluid replenishment sometimes.)

Talked to Auntie for a bit yesterday, and she seems to be doing pretty well. I sent her an arrangement of red roses last Friday, just to let her know I was thinking of her. The florist I use sent me an email that they were having a red roses sale, so I took advantage. Unfortunately, she was in Green Valley at her sister's until yesterday, but Doctor Cousin took custody until she got back yesterday. Auntie was tickled to get them; said they were a splash of color to make her black & grey living room pop.

'saboutit...I don't have enough life to write about it every day.

Reading: �Mary Marie� (1920), by Eleanor H. Porter Link

Listening: Concrete Blonde, Edie Brickell & New Bohemians, 10,000 Maniacs, KT Tunstall



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com