rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















homestretch
December 14, 2017, 7:38 P.M.

I took Friday off this week, because I need to burn the last 4.5 vacation hours I can't carry over, and becasue I need to get my baking wrapped up so we can pack and ship by the 18th.

Nothing going on at work this week anway, except for the annual holiday feed in the company dining room. With all the Sturm und Drang going on around my neck of the woods, I really didn't feel like eating with most of my co-workers (never been my thing anyway, TBH.), but I did, and took a full hour, to boot, because I'm kind of fed up with the place at the moment.

Food was...normal for the dining area. Which is to say--not too great. Cafeteria food is, after all, cafeteria food, whether or not it's Christmas.


I've been trying to go home every day and keep up with some of the work load, but I don't get as much done as I would like, by the time I get dinner and clean up the mess. Spouse has had a rough week, so he hasn't even done the dishes for me like he usually does.

He did come home and put B's new pet stairs together on Tuesday, and he did his online benefits elections on Wednesday, which is something. But none of that was particularly helpful to me. Tree still isn't up (And it isn't even a big deal—bring it up, take it out of the dust cover, stick it on top of the stereo speaker, plug it in, fluff it up, done!), and I'm still not done with all of what I wanted to get done, but the sugar cookies are frosted and decorated, anyway, and some of the laundry got done.

We have been working with the B on using the new steps, but I think this is going to take awhile. Old dog, new trick and all. He tends to want to start climbing from the side, instead of the front.

They are very nice steps, though--but I wish they were taller. If the bed was only as high as they are, he wouldn't need them! But they are sturdy and stable, so I have hopes of getting this to work. (He still really wants to jump when he comes down.)
I gave up my Sam's club membership when I joined Costco, but I've always missed it. Didn't really feel I could justify two warehouse club memberships, though. But the other day I got a special offer through a comany program to get a Sam's membership for only $25.00, and it came with a $5.00 giftcard, making the true cost only $20.00. So I bit. I have to take a print-out of the voucher they emailed me to Sam's and get the membership activated and get the membership cards, so it remains to be seen whether or not this was a good idea. I've been burned before with signing up through work. The voucher includes detailed instructions for handling by the Sam's clerk, so fingers crossed, I guess.

But going on the assumption that it is all good--the first thing I'm going to do is make an eye appointment, and get rid of these horrible Costco glasses!.
So tomorrow, I will be running around baking up cookies, purchasing packing materials, (hopefully) re-joining Sam's Club, and--dare to hope--getting that damned tree up.




Reading: "A Madcap Cruise" (1905), by Oric Bates. I'm nearly to the end of chapter 10 now. So far, I don’t like the two main characters very much. The one guy has no moral scruples about stealing a luxury yacht--from a relative, yet--in order to pursue a woman, and turning it over to a chum to look after while he goes running after said woman. Said chum thinks antiquities smugglers are perfectly justified in raping and pillaging an ancient culture in defiance of protective laws. Oh, yeah. The sociopath who stole the boat also stole his uncle's mail, including a letter that seems to relevant to a big mining firm going smash and wiping out a lot of investors. And he kind of know this, but clearly doesn't give F*CK ONE. Honestly. What a couple of douchenozzles.

Also, seasonal reading: “Mrs. Budlong's Christmas Presents” (1912), by Rupert Hughes

Listening: (Slightly twisted) Holiday music: My Chemical Romance covering "All I want for Christmas is You", Save Ferris doing "Christmas Wrapping", "Hanukkah Rocks", by The Leevees, Pilate's amazing cover of The Pogues' "Fairytale of New York", and Guster's cover of "Donde esta Santa Claus?" (all from Holiday Weetamix 2007)

Inked Up: Bexley 10th Anniversary with custom italic nib is inked with Montblanc Irish green, the Conklin Duragraph fine nib with the usual Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, and the Sheaffer Intensity medium with Robert Oster Blue Water Ice.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com