rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















catch-up
June 13, 2016

I'm tired, achy, and grumpy today. Not sure why. (Not sure about the  grumpy, that is. The tired and achy is from working my tail off  yesterday.)

It was a fairly productive weekend, really. I got a lot done in the house  on Friday and Saturday, and we both got a lot done in the yard on  Sunday. Yard mowed and trimmed, weeds sprayed, roses tended,  contemplation garden set up, plants watered, bird feeder filled, and pool  chemistry balanced. plus we got the shopping taken care of.

Spouse tried an experiment on Sunday; he turned the gas grill  (temporarily) into a smoker, and used it to smoke a piece of pork butt  and bake a bunch of potatoes. Honestly, I'm not sure what came out  better--the meat, or the taters! Those "mickeys" tasted like they had been  baked in the coals of a campfire; smokey, roasty, and pure YUM.  The  pork was perfect--smokey, succulent, rich, and with a gorgeous bark and  smoke-ring.  Just some outstanding 'Q. We had it pulled, on slider buns,  with Russell's BBQ sauce. A little butter on the potatoes, and that was all  THEY needed.

That was Saturday's dinner. On Sunday, we heated up the leftover meat  and had the sandwiched again, this time with tossed salad. (The leftover  potatoes had gone to make smokey-delicious home fries for Sunday  breakfast, alongside thick-cut bacon, fried eggs, and bakery toast with  Door County chopped cherry jam from Seaquist Orchards.)


I skipped an entry last week, because I have been to busy to write one.  That time of year, other things to be done besides navel contemplation.  Work was busy, and home was, too.  In fact, I was pretty much blowing  off all the stuff that I do to relax and relieve stress. Including breathing  correctly. 

So I'm determined to do better this week. I did a lot of vintage ad and  vintage book stuff this weekend, I am writing this entry, and I mentally  wrestled myself and won--I shoved my pile of work aside for five  minutes and put some wet ink onto some smooth paper. (I had realized,  to my shock and horror, that I had not even LOOKED at a fountain  pen in two weeks.) I'm watchful that I don't hold my breath when I'm  stressing. Trying to remember to get up and move every hour or so. All  those simple little things that make me feel less crappy, but that go right  by the wayside when I'm flustered.
Planning on running down to Rockford on Father's Day; meeting Dad  (and his gal-pal) for lunch at the Machine Shed.  Had a bit of a ruckus  over things, but got there in the end.  I love my dad dearly, and it's  despite his flaws, letme tell you. I have spent my lifetime dealing with the  fact that in my family, I come last. A distant, dead. last.  

He had totted up everybody he wanted to see while he was back east,  and once he had them all slotted in on his calendar, he checked to see if  he had any time left--and THEN he thought of me. And called on a  Friday, while I was mowing the lawn, to see what I was doing the next  day.  And guess who got all butt-hurt when I told him I couldn't drop  everything at a moment's notice and go galumphing across half of  Illinois? But we got it worked out, after a lot more bullshit & phone calls.  Mostly thanks to his friend, who is a very decent old gal--and who is  often aghast at the way he treats me. I know he loves me, I know he's  proud of me--he's just...the way he is. 
We had already made plans for June 4th--plans to spend time with some  members of Spouse's extended family--folks whom we hardly ever see,  but who we dearly love and who love us back just as hard! We needed  that, and we had a fabulous time. We actually met at the cemetery in  Chicago, and had a grand time cleaning up and decorating the family  graves, visiting, studying family genealogy, and just being together.  Followed by a grand lunch at Russell's BBQ. This branch of his family is  like the AZ branch of mine; they're very functional and loving. 
I was supposed to go to the doctor last Wednesday--took a couple of  hours of personal time, arranged to leave work early--and got a call two  hours before to tell me that the doctor had to cancel. I deferred re- scheduling--and to tell you the truth, I'm think I am going to blow it off.  My test result, while down a bit, are still in the normal range, and I think  the appointment was just a waste anyway.
I still took the time, though. Because Mr. B has another leg infection, and  I had to go get his meds at the vet. He manages to get one of these  things just about every time we get ready to go out of town. I'm  beginning to think there is a link.  He's giving me a lot of trouble with it,  too. He will not leave it alone, and I'm about ready to go to Petsmart and  pick up a cone of shame. I bandaged it yesterday, and he treated me like  his worst enemy all day, and promptly chewed off the "no-chew"  bandage, as soon as I went to sleep last night. Little shit.
Spouse had an interview for that engineering position at the home office,  and they are going to make him an offer. They really want him. For most  people I'd say go for it--great opportunity!  But it is a hundred-mile-a-day  commute, plus the added formality of working at the main office--and I  think he would cave under that kind of pressure. Not going to tell him  no, though, if he decides to take it. 

 

Reading: A Mildred Wirt 6-book girl's series about Brownie  Scouts. Book 1: "The Brownie Scouts at Snow Valley" (1949)

Listening: Elvis Costello, Bobby Broom, Dire Straits

Inked Up: No changes.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com