rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















maintenance
April 4, 2016

Friday: Work, home, ordered a new swimsuit online, lunch, nap, laundry, pizza for dinner, laundry, internet, bed.


Saturday: The weather was completely psychotic: rain, snow, clear, sleet, snow, clear & sunny, overcast, snow, and windy. But we were up, washed, dressed, and out by 8:30--breakfast at Tommy's, then Costco, Meijer, took purchases home & put them away, then back out, to downtown for Spouse to shop for clothes. He found a couple of nice casual shirts, some good-quality tees, and ordered two pair of pants. Then home--he took a nap, and I spent the afternoon in the kitchen, taking a leisurely approach to the involved process of making lasagna. We had that, breadsticks, and a salad for dinner. I cleaned up as I cooked, cleaned up again after dinner, and packed up the leftover lasagna into containers for Monday's lunch and for a future dinner. Threw some potatoes in to pre-bake for Sunday breakfast homefries, then it was light entertainment and an early bed; I was whipped. I'd treated myself to a new pair of pillows at Costco, and I slept great.
Sunday, I got up early for a nice, quiet hour to myself with a cup of coffee and my tablet. At about seven, I threw another load into the washer and started making breakfast. Yes, that's right. I made Saturday dinner, AND I made Sunday breakfast. And we went out for Saturday breakfast. Quite unusual, but as I felt like cooking anyway. I made bacon, scrambled eggs, toast, and the afore-mentioned homefries, and it all came out very nicely. I wasn't too worried; I'm always the one who cooks the bacon and does scrambled eggs.
Spouse had a project--fixing the broken struts on the front awning, so it could bear up to all the strong wind we get. While he went out with a cigar and worked on that, I did my usual Sunday morning thing; dishes, and giving the kitchen a thorough clean. Advanced the wash, and then indulged in a pleasant 45 minutes of fountain pen maintenance. Then it was into the shower. Once I was dressed, I went out to help him clean up from his project, then came in to finish the last of the laundry. He proceeded to the back yard, to pump the excess rainwater off of the pool cover. When I was done, I went out to help. We had all that done by the stroke of noon!

He showered and relaxed for a while, and I mixed up a chocolate cake and popped it into the oven. Once it was out, I was ready for a nap myself! Slept for a couple hours, then fed the dog and mixed up some homemade vanilla buttercream icing and frosted the cake. For dinner, Spouse made me swiss steak in the pressure cooker, and served it with mashed potatoes. He just kind of made it up as he went out of stuff we had on hand, but it came out absolutely delicious. I think he was kind of pleased; he doesn't always have perfect confidence when it comes to winging it. He hasn't been cooking long enough to trust his own skills. So even though I made a dinner, a breakfast and a cake, I have to give him credit for pulling his weight in the kitchen this weekend. And he doesn't particularly like swiss steak; he made it just for me because I love it. It was something my mom made really well, and I think he knew she was very much on my mind this week, since her birthday was Thursday. Anyway, I certainly appreciated it! We did the kitchen together, and I got all my Monday stuff sorted out, did some excel art, and then I watched an episode of "The Last Leg", and played word games till time for bed.





Reading:

Listening: Elle King, Seal, The Lumineers, The Fixx

Inked Up: A fresh start--in addition to the always-inked Conklin full of Pelikan Brilliant Brown, I have a couple of pens inked up with Organics Studio: my vintage Sheaffer No-Nonsense magenta/fine nib with Jane Austen (a rather shy violet) and the Jin Hao X750 medium nib with their "Accident"--a blue tinged with turquoise that I really like, as it's plain enough for work without being to plain for me. If only their inks were not so darned dry! A little too dry for the Sheaffer, I'm afraid. And the X750 is a lusciously juicy writer usually, but even it can't compensate for the dryness of the OS inks. I've tried several of them now, and it seems to be a trait of the brand. Luckily, I loaded the medium-nibbed Skilcraft Executive up with some Kon-Peki, for when I get tired of wrestling with dry inks.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com