rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I think my optometric rx is "german shepherd"
June 29, 2015

Friday: Smashed my finger in the front door on my way out in the morning and had to give myself first aid before I could pull out of the driveway. Work, then haircut & eyebrow wax. Back home for the first "B and me" nap I've managed in over a month. Olive Garden for dinner, followed by a trip to the new Meijer store--which was mobbed, and wore me out. Beautiful store, though.


Saturday: Got up and jumped on laundry duty, then we got cleaned up and went to the bank, to open a savings account and set up automatic transfers to it. I put my foot down with Spouse, he needs to start living like a respectable person instead of squirrelling away cash in various hidey-holes.

Once that was dealt with, we went over to Costco; I had scheduled an eye exam. Got two pairs of new glasses ordered--regular and sunglasses. The prices were so good, I decided to go for it!

Really like the optometrist, but she isn't in-network yet, so I have to submit the exam charge to VSP myself. (Which they say you can do online, but they make it as hard as possible, so I just did it the old-fashioned way and dropped it in the mail.) I went all-plastic this time; very basic--Guess brand, full-frame, softly rectangular, a soft brown with a lighter tint at the bottom of the lenses. Those are for my regular pair. I can't remember what brand the sunglasses frames are, but I picked out a nice "spectacle" shape, slightly oversized, with a matte tortoise-shell finish and brown lenses. Should have them in 7-10 business days.

Since I finally got an optometrist who wants to fix the "pulling" and "lack of coordination" problems (a/k/a I'M FRIGGING CROSS-EYED!!), but she told me my new prescription is going to take a lot of getting used to, because of that. Oh, yay. Well, maybe the nausea will help me lose some weight.

After finishing in the optical department, we went out into the store and did some shopping. Which isn't a lot of fun when you're dilated, I can tell you! Then we went home to put stuff away and get right to the yard work--which also wasn't a lot of fun with pupils as enlarged as an anime heroine. But it was a pretty day, and we really needed to do it. The front was due and the back was overdue. Got that done then spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing. Grilled brats, potato salad and corn-on-the-cob for dinner, followed by angel food cake and strawberries for dessert.
Got up at 7, to greet a most gorgeous morning. Made a cup of coffee, then slipped on my Toms and sat in the backyard in my nightie, enjoying a peaceful morning in my pretty, private spot. After I finished the coffee, I got my watering all done and went in the house-- where Spouse was hard at work making delicious sausage and pancakes for breakfast. After we ate and I cleaned up the kitchen, I watered the front flowers before jumping in the shower. Once we were dressed, we gave the B a treat and took him to the dog park. He had a good romp with a few other dogs, and a nice car ride, two of his favorite things. Once we got him settled back at home, Spouse and I set out on an "old people" drive--we cruised down country roads to Burlington, pointing out all the stuff that's changed since "our day". Hit the Walmart for a few items, then cruised home. Spouse made short ribs & carrots in the pressure cooker, with mashed potatoes on the side. A new recipe; it used cola as one of the ingredients (Spouse used real sugar Pepsi). Came out quite delicious! I was afraid it would be awfully sweet, but it really wasn't any sweeter than you would expect it to be from the carrots and sweet onions in it. I told him this recipe is a keeper.
I should mention the weekend pen stuff:
Got three pen shipments on Friday: My vintage Sheaffer, the Skilcraft Spouse bought me, and my order from goulet of inks and converters. (Like the Skilcaft, and dearly love the Sheaffer and the magenta inks I ordered.) On Saturday, I moved my pen gear into a bigger box (a discarded wooden tool case Spouse brought home from work--over twice the size of my old one, but still too small!) On Sunday, I was in the Burlington, WI Wal-Mart, and lucked into finding the Black n' Red Twin Wire11.75" x 8.25" notebook. So it was a great weekend for my "pen thing", as Spouse called it.
As for today...a long day. Back to work, fight traffic both ways, then home to a husband who is feeling sick and is in a rotten mood. Hooray.

Reading:
Having a re-read of "Keziah Coffin" (1909), by Joseph Crosby Lincoln

Listening:
Soul Asylum, Cowboy Junkies, Vertical Horizon, The Smithereens

Inked Up:
Sheaffer No-Nonsense (Magenta), Fine Nib, with Rohher & Klingner Magenta ink. I love the way this combo writes in my new BnR notebook. So comfortable, and so pretty!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com