rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















random thoughts, 3/31-4/01
3/31-4/01, 2015

random thoughts for the last day of March
I wish we had a craft store in this town that wasn't owned by fundie-nutjob tools. It's 2015, I live in a community of over 100,000 people, and I still have to drive to a neighboring county to shop at a craft store I don't despise.

Working on my pen roll. All I need is some sheets of felt, some ribbon, and some thread: 30 -mile round trip? Or support a company that doesn't support women?

Some days, it's hard having a conscience.


Spouse is hard at work, flogging the old PT. He wants to get it sold and off his hands. So do I, but I have a feeling he isn't going to be able to get anywhere near what he wants for it. It is in such a state, it won't sell for more than a thousand. But he's stubborn, and it's early days yet. We'll see how that plays out.
I am absolutely adoring the new pen. It writes beautifully. I am actually taking handwritten notes at work, just so I can use it. Normally I do a BRD draft in word, but I've gone old school, just because this pen is such a joy to use. I need to write somebody a letter.
Can't get hold of my dad, which is bothering me. I'll try again tonight, but I don't know what's up there. He popped up on FB today, but I don't get an answer when I call.
Today is my mom's birthday, so I'm feeling a little down. I miss the crazy old broad.
random thoughts, April 1st edition
Finally got my dad on the phone last evening. He got everything closed and squared away on his new place, and is very excited--can't wait to move there permanently. He was also very glad to hear that we got the Buick, thought we paid a good price for it, and seemed to be relieved that we found something. Had some advice as to things to watch for on that model (transmission, brakes, wheel bearings, oil), and how much to ask for the PT. Seemed pleased when I told him Spouse already had an appointment to have the trannie serviced, because it is just the sensible thing to do--he needs to be reminded, sometimes, that Spouse is a lot more knowledgeable than my brothers when it comes to cars.

We didn't broach the subject of it being Mom's birthday; we both already knew from FB that we were both thinking about her yesterday.
I know I said I wanted a converter for my new pen, but the more I use it, the more I really love the results I'm getting with the cartridge. So I ordered a couple boxes of refills. I'm not sure what blue it is I'm using currently, though--it may be blue-black, or just a plain blue, or maybe Mysterious Blue. I really like it, there's a lot of name confusion out there for Waterman's blue inks. Anyway, I ordered Serenity Blue, because it is was a good price, free shipping and a really beautiful, vivid shade of blue.

I'll still get a converter eventually, I'm sure. But for now I'll just stick with the refills. I may even re-fill an empty cartridge; I've heard that's pretty easy.
You ever get halfway through a book and come to a sudden realization that you are Just. DONE.? Here's my latest, as it popped into my head:
"Yeah, well--the narrator is so stupid that at this point I really officially no longer care what happens to him. He needs to exit the gene pool...although I'm not sure he's smart enough even to achieve reproduction. He hasn't got the native intelligence of an amoeba. I'd almost think Beatrice is a smart cookie to reject him--except for the fact that she thinks he's wasting his potential. When he obviously has none."

Reading:
"The Mistress of Bonaventure" (1903), by Harold Bindloss. If I don't drive down to the beach and chuck my tablet into Lake Michigan in a white-hot fury at the stupidity of the main character.

Listening:
INXS, The Black Keys, The Band, Ingrid Michaelson, XTC, Goo Goo Dolls

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com