rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















thu
January 8, 2015

THU We both took a vac day on Tuesday, and got the Ford fixed (new starter--$333.24) so we can count on it a little better in these horrible deep freeze temps. It has been below zero or in the single digits all week, and with windchills sitting in the neighborhood of -25F. The good news is, she's starting reliably again. The bad news is, our wonderful mechanic that we have only just discoverd? Has sold his shop and is retiring. GAH! (He says we will be happy with the guy that bought the place--I hope he's right!)

B is struggling with this ridiculous weather, too. His feet freeze up before he's halfway through a poo, poor pup. And his dog logic refuses to wrap itself around the fact that we have to leave the house for hours when it is like this. He's not stupid--he knows it's dangerous outside.

I've never been shy about letting people know that I loathe the cold weather. Spouse used to be a winter-lover, but he is not anymore. We are both creaky and achy and cranky with the cold, and pretty miserable. He manifests it by becoming pretty much worthless around the house. Which is not a horrible thing, since I try to keep warm in that house by being more active, and end up taking up his slack. Including meals.

On Tuesday, I did my take on one of his favorite comfort foods--not my idea of the healthiest eating, but he loves it--sliced canned potatoes and kielbasa. Only I didn't fry it--I washed and blotted the potatoes, cut the kielbasa in slices, then arranged the sausage and potaoes in alternating layers in a 9x9 pan, topping each layer of potatoes with a little melted butter and a sprinkle of Sunny Paris Blend from Penzey's Spices. That stuff is absolute magic for potatoes and eggs--it makes anything better. (purple shallots, chives, green peppercorn, dill weed, basil, tarragon, chervil and bay leaf)

I popped it into the convection oven at 375 for 10 minutes and 400 for another 10, and it came out pretty damned awesome, considering what I started with!

He gobbled it up (with a side of buttered rye bread, of course) like the good little Northside Polish boy he is--like it was manna from heaven. I have a feeling that I will be stuck making it for him from now on, because he really loved it prepared that way.

Last night, I pulled out the leftover homemade turkey-rice soup I'd made back on Thanksgiving weekend, and heated it up for dinner. Spouse wanted more than just soup, so it was sausage time again--this time I just threw the remaining half-pack of hot dogs in a foil pan and got them nice and roasty toasty in the C.O. (I'm going to have to come up with a name for this appliance--I can see that).

Tonight, I've fired up the "big" oven and a doing the whole meal in it. Country-style pork ribs with BBQ sauce, baked potatoes, and scalloped corn. Simple, tasty, hearty--and a proven winner.

And tomorrow? Pizza night! We haven't had one in a while, so we decided it would be a good Friday night dinner. Plus, we did a little inventory and realized we already have the mozzarella, provolone, and parmesan cheeses, Italian sausage, pepperoni, eggplant "salad", marinara, and canned mushrooms in the house, so all we need is the dough and we will be all set.

Okay--I feel like I need to explain. Eggplant salad is this stuff I they make at the local Italian deli. It is more of a relish or a pickle than a salad, and has chopped eggplant, pitted green olives, celery, and red and green bell peppers, seasoned with Italian seasonings, and bottled in an oil and vinegar dressing. It is fantastic on pizza, and it puts the BOMB in a bomber. (I love it best on a grilled Italian sausage from their sidewalk cafe, but that is--understandably--closed right now.)

Got my raise info this week--pleasantly surprised at the percentage. It wasn't great and grand, but it was enough to let me know they appreciate me a little. And if my calcs are correct, the new pension scheme will give me another $700 a year in my 401k without hurting me much. Of course, I won't know the true facts until I see my direct deposit and pay statement tomorrow.



Reading:

Listening:

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com