rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















uncongenial
October 01, 2014

The ever-worsening atmosphere at work is getting me down again. They are throwing the switch on the newly-installed turnstiles tonight, and I find that pretty depressing.

But there is another thing bugging me. I found out recently that a co-worker with 35 years under her belt just had to take a personality test. For the position that she's held for ten of those years.

That is freaking disturbing. I've had to take them to get hired--good old Wally-World was a pioneer in that, and I remember sitting in the snack bar, rigging a cheap rip-off of the Meyer-Briggs test, in order to get that job back in 1989.

But to throw one at a veteran employee, who isn't even changing positions? I can't really come up with a positive spin on why they would want to do that. Oh, I know how they are choosing to frame it. They have slightly re-organized the area where she works, and they hired a new department head from outside the company, and this is "just to enable her to know her staff better".

Yeah, right. So she can figure out who she can get along with, and figure out the best way to bug the ones she CAN'T get along with until they quit.


Ugh. I'm feeling depressed again. Tired, down, apathetic, cynical, bored, and aimless. I wish I could afford some therapy.
Joined ello last night. Nephew sent me an invite, and I set up a profile. I have no clue how to find anyone on there yet, though, so Nephew is the only "friend" I have so far. Sent W & T invites, but who knows if they would join, or use, a new network. I sincerely doubt that my friends and family are going to migrate en masse from FB, and I've already had that profile for at least five years, so it's probably pointless. I'll still have to be on FB, because that's where my peeps are. Most of them don't do twitter, I don't want them to find me on tumblr, and I won't do instagram, pinterest, or snapchat. Oh, heck--I can only manage about two, anyway--when I joined tumbler, I ended up booting twitter due to time constraints.



Reading: "Nan of the Gypsies" (1926), and "Rilla of the Lighthouse" (1926), by Grace May North. Boy, when that woman wrote an unpleasant woman character, they didn�t come any nastier!

Listening: Sly and the Family Stone, Beach House, Tears for Fears, Collecctive Soul.


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com