rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















why do I look forward to weekends, again?
May 12, 2014

I am bruised, scratched, tired, aching, and sunburned--Happy Monday!

Worked our tails off Saturday, kicking ass and taking names in the landscaping department. We got up and moving, stopped at McD's for a quick bite of fuel, and then headed to Menard's to pick up landscaping supplies, then we ran a few other necessary errands. Once we got home, we ripped out all the old edging, picked up all the dog poo, cut the grass (front and back), weed-whacked, swept, raked and blew, trimmed the shrubs, installed new edging and accent lights, put down new mulch, put out a couple of pots of marigolds, overseeded the front lawn, bagged up all the junk and trash, and put all the tools away.

No picnic, let me tell you. And the worst of it was Spouse's mood. Yard work brings out the worst in him, and he was trying my patience. He would have been furious with me if I hadn't been out there working, but at the same time, he wouldn't let me DO anything! He wouldn't assign me a task, and everything I tried to initiate on my own, he jumped in and took over. And as irritating as it all was, I really think it wouldn't have bothered me as much if he hadn't been acting exactly like my parents. He mellowed out after a while, though--mainly he was too tired to keep it up, I think. And by the time we got the new wooden edging up around the shrubbery, he was in a better mood.

I did remind him a couple of times that the doctor said he needed to take breaks, and drink water, and not bull his way straight through, and he cooperated. He let me spread the mulch (oh gee thanks!), and I managed to scratch the heck out of my arms, trying to get it under the bushes. Managed to get one heck of a sunburn on the back of my neck, too. OUCH.

And we are not done, by a long shot--but that was one hell of a beginning! We were as far as we could go by 1:30, so both of us hit the showers and took aspirin, and relaxed for a while. We'd decided that whatever was for dinner, it would be something we had on hand--neither of us was up to making a store run. So it was barbecued country-style ribs and baked potatoes on the grill, and a steamer-bag of sweet corn in the microwave. It would have been delicious even if we hadn't worked up a crazy appetite.

Even though we were both pretty whipped, we got the kitchen cleaned up and I decided to make a start on the laundry. I managed to get all the way through two loads, so I was pretty proud of myself. Spouse must have felt guilty that I was tackling more chores, because while I was downstairs with the wash, he was upstairs running the vacuum and cleaning the bathroom!

That was about it, though--he made it to about 7:30 before conking out, and I was dozing off in the middle of a game of Flipwords at 8:30, so I toddled off to Bedfordshire too.


And slept till almost 7:30! But I finally rolled out of bed and poured some coffee down my throat, before making a Mother's Day call to my mom. While I was on the phone, Spouse threw a load of towels in the wash, and made pancakes & sausage for breakfast. Then we cleaned up the kitchen and ourselves, I jumped back into the laundry wars, and we headed out to do the major weekly errands--gas, grocery shopping, etc.

We were both so stiff and sore from the previous day that I knew we were going to have to take it easy yesterday, so once we got home and put everything away, I advanced the laundry as far as "last load is in the dryer" (every one of those trips up and down the stairs was a killer, too), and we all stretched out in bed for a nap.

I read for a while, then dozed off--and woke up to the smell of dinner cooking. Spouse made a ginger-garlic chicken stir-fry with basmati rice, and loaded my portion up with all kinds of veggies. DEE-licious. Then we cleaned up the kitchen one more time, I finished the last load, and we both got our Monday morning shit together, before having a nice chill-out before bed.

Today was the start of the 10-week walking program I have to do, so I guess I have to start being a "good girl" and eating right, too. Not looking forward to it, but what the hell--I know I have to. Not only for the cost savings, but for ME.

It's just--it is so hard to get my head around the fact that something I hate to do so damned much would be something I'm doing for me. Totally counter-intuitive. And feeling like I've been beaten with a sack of wrenches isn't the ideal way to start on a fitness routine, I'm pretty sure.
One last thing--I didn't write about Friday because I DID write about Friday, only to have my post disappear into the abyss. And I simply didn't have the heart to do it again.



Reading: re-reading the first three "Red Pepper Burns" books, by Grace S. Richmond, preparatory to starting "Red and Black", which I have never read. Now on "Red Pepper's Patients". Also, I'm still working through "Strawberry Acres", which means I have two charming young lady characters recuperating from typhoid fever at the same time.

Listening: Modest Mouse, Kings of Leon, Fitz & the Tantrums, OutKast


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com