rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















breaking
March 20, 2014

Spouse is going to be headed to Texas next week to...I don't know what to call it. "Try out" for a job, I guess. The company who wants him for a LOTO auditor/trainer is flying him out to a job in TX to check him out on the job, as it were. They are paying all transport and accommodations, and will pay a $25/hr. "consult" fee, just to see if he is what they are looking for.

I don't get excited about his job opportunities anymore, and even if this was something that was a good fit for him, I would still not be crazy about it. I don't want to harsh his groove, so I haven't mentioned this--but a job where you fly around all the time is probably a bad idea if you have DVT issues! As it is, he has done field service more than once during our marriage, and it is not something he tolerates well. Someone with sleep issues, IBS, and DVTs just really should not travel for a living. And I have too many unanswered questions about the nature of the work. Will he get paid when he isn't actually out on a job? Will he be able to handle having a job where his base is working from home?

Am I going to be able to tackle all the additional responsibilities that will fall to me if he is a road warrior? I have been down this road before, and I know full well that all the yard work and all the little details of life will once more land back on me--and I am getting too old and too tired to shoulder them alone again.

But he wants to go for it. He leaves early Sunday morning early, and gets late Tuesday. So I am taking a couple of days off to enjoy some solitude, putter around, try and catch up on my sleep, and go see the doctor about the exhaustion. I need a "spring break". If the weather permits, I may take the B to the lake, or the doggie park. I think we would both enjoy that a lot.


Well, congratulations, USPS. It only took you 28 days, from the time I originally mailed it, to deliver a 6"x9" padded mailer with a DVD in it (First Class).

I don't remember if I mentioned this here before, but back in February, I was tasked by my dear Auntie to "take a million pictures" at my nephew's wedding, so she could enjoy them. After debating the best way to set it up so she could enjoy it easily, I took a bunch of photos from my camera and from Facebook, and put together a slideshow with captions and background music. Then burned it onto DVDs so my auntie, my mom, and the bride could all have a copy. I had the whole thing created, burned, packaged, taken to the postal station at Festival, weighed, stamped, and dropped in the mail before President's Day.

And on February 19th, they were all back in my mailbox at home due to insufficient postage. Due to the insufficient postage the POSTAL STATION put on it. So we marched them back into the store, and raised a fuss. The woman at the desk assured me that it was their fault, and that she would rectify the situation at no additional charge to us.

A couple of days later, I got a thank you from the bride, and a couple of days after that, my mom mentioned that she had received hers. But Auntie, who was the reason for the whole shebang, waited, and waited, and never got hers.

So I burned a new copy, packaged it up, and this time Spouse paid extra, for certified mail. (ridiculous, how much they get you for THAT!) I signed up for email notifications, and we waited. And I didn't get a single notification for the first four days. It took a total of SIX days to get it there. But she had it at last, and from what she told me, she enjoyed it immensely.

And then, on Tuesday�she got the original one in the mail.

They wonder why they're hurting? I get every scrap of bulk rate junk you could imagine, but they can't manage to deliver a first class package from Wisconsin to Arizona in under a month, unless I pay extra for certified or priority.

Reading: "Finding the Lost Treasure" (1933), by Helen M. Persons "Saturday Night: A Backstage History of Saturday Night Live" (1986), by Doug Hill and Jeff Weingrad (recently re-released for Kindle format) I got this one via the library's downloads system, and it isn't very interesting. I thought it was a different (and much more recent) book about SNL, and I probably won't finish it. Considering the fact that the show had been on about 10 years when the book was written, it probably seemed like it was time for a "history", but now that they've managed to roll up another three decades or so, it seems a little...incomplete. The kind of thing, that if I was a librarian, I would weed.

Listening: Fitz & the Tantrums, Grateful Dead, Pearl Jam, Art Garfunkel, U2


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com