rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















so I joined this thing
January 26th, 2011

It is said that there is a much higher success rate with quitters who have a program. So I got a program. It's an online smoking cessation support thing. And in spite of the fact that I cannot stand this type of thing, I am sincerely trying to give it my best shot.

Seems like a typical setup for a support group. A good dose of "the religious zeal of the convert", lots of "twelve-steppy" kind of mottoes, and more than a dash of "trading one addiction for another". Also, cartoons that try too hard, cheerleaders,

And the gum sticks to my denture, tastes kind of nasty, gives me a headache, and requires more of a committment to a habit than actually smoking half a pack a day does. (Have you ever read the instructions on that shit?)

Honestly--I have such an astonishing lack of committment to actually sucking down smoke that quitting should be a lead-pipe cinch. I "go through" half a pack or less a day. Of those 10 cigarettes, I smoke less than half all the way down. I honestly resent it when my cigarette cravings take me away from friends, activities, and climate-controlled environments and make me stand in cold, dark, lonely and unsavory places. Spending half of my lunch break to walk the three blocks (and back)to get to the smoking area, whoof down a few puffs, and rush back to try and get some lunch.

I also resent being forced to pay extra taxes because the politicians in my state consider smokers an unending pot of gold, and then turn around and spend the money to come up with more restrictions on where we are allowed to USE the cigarettes we just got taxed to death on.

So why is this so damned hard?



Reading:Hobby--Having read "My Mother's Rival" and "Wife in Name Only","Coralie"--and started into "Marion Arleigh's Penance"--I can sum up Charlotte M. Brame as follows: Heroines are drippy blondes with a propensity to wasting death. Heroes are dumber than stumps, and their pride makes them deaf and blind to any obvious truths. They are also rich, titled, and in posession of great manor houses. The "bad guy" is always a beautiful brunette and/or foreign femme fatale; clever, scheming, con artists of evil intent. Not quite bodice rippers, since they are contemporary to the period when written. But very pulpy, and I suppose they would have been considered romantic according to the standards of the time. In other words, NOT GREAT.
So why am I kind of loving these, at the same time I'm hating them?

General--"Teatime for the Traditionally Built", (Mma Ramotswe #10, from 2009) by Alexander McCall Smith. I was going to take a break from general reading for a while, but I find I need the instant accessability of a paper book right now, what with the trying to quit smoking and all.

Surfing:

Listening:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com